Joining My Granny Squares Into Strips

There are so many different ways to join squares! I chose to whip stitch my granny squares together; I happen to like the flat smooth results, sewing through the back loops only, while being careful not to pull up the stitches too tightly. Here’s a Bethintxl video which demonstrates this method. (I’ve shared links to nine other joining tutorials at the end of this post.)

After sewing the first two squares together, I continued on to the next two squares without cutting the yarn. And then the next two… and the next two… working my way down through the first two columns of squares.

Once the ten sets of squares (columns one and two) were sewn together, they were all joined by the continuous strand of yarn. (This is explained in the video, too.) It took a piece over two yards long to sew one column seam.

I repeated this over and over, sewing one square from the next column onto each set, until my squares had become ten loooong strips, (running left to right, or horizontally, in the photo below) each containing sixteen squares. Every strip is connected to the strip next to it by the strands of sewing yarn.

Emily has carefully watched my progress. I think she’s feeling rather disappointed that she can no longer wreak havoc by scattering granny squares about! I’m sure she’ll soon find some other way to entertain herself with crochet.

Next, I’ll be sewing the long conjoined granny strips together. I guess I’ll need pieces of yarn almost four yards long for those seams. It’s really starting to look like a blanket to me, no longer just a bunch of squares!

Links to Methods for Joining Squares

Sewing – Whip Stitch (Link at beginning of post), or Another Stitch, a dropsdesign video. Note: This video is silent.

Slip Stitch Join – from Crochet Spot

Slip Stitch – Joining Squares as-you-go, from Attic24

Single Crochet Join – forms a ridge or frame around each square, a Bethintxl video. Notice she works over the yarn end as she does the join.

Single Crochet – Alternating – also from Bethintxl. This can easily become a Zig-Zag Join. Scroll down to the fifth photo where you see the wording “This example shows a chain 2…” The more chains, the wider the join, I’ve seen it done with up to four. Another variable is the number of granny square stitches that are skipped between making the single crochet stitches. You could choose to skip only one or two; the photo shows skipping three. The zig-zag join is a good way to make a blanket a little bigger, without having to add another round on every square.

Fancier Joins – the Flat Braid Join, the faster and easier Scallop Join, and the Simulated Braid Join, all from Gourmet Crochet. A big thank you to Linda Cash for drawing my attention to the Flat Braid Join. I had never noticed it before!

What’s your favorite method?

This entry was posted in Joining Squares, Other Afghans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Joining My Granny Squares Into Strips

  1. Edith says:

    Thanks for all the handy links :-) I usually sc my squares together in long strips…I’m no fan of sewing! Anyway, I like the ridge that forms!

  2. Wanda says:

    I would like to know how to make granny squares, period. I used to know how and I have forgotten. I know they are quite simple but have just forgotten. Thank you much.

Leave a Reply

