One BIG Heavy Blanket!!

Although many of the afghans I see in thrift stores are far too “well-loved”, I do find a few that are in excellent condition. As you may already know, I buy some to give to children entering foster care, but some I buy just for their yarn, like this over six-foot square (that’s a yard-stick) blanket I found it at Sal’s for only, get this, $5.00! LOL!

This baby isn’t just Big, but Heavy, weighing over Seven Pounds! That’s more than enough yarn to make Four of my ripples for the foster kids. This is a double-layered blanket knitted with a double strand of yarn! It looks like it’s made from tubes of fabric knitted on a Knifty Knitter or a similar loom.

Of course, its colors make me think about Christmas, which is only two months away. I want to unravel this quickly so I can turn it into Candy Cane Ripples ~ Spearmint green and white ones, and peppermint red and white ones!!

This entry was posted in Thrifty Treasures, Yarn Stash and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One BIG Heavy Blanket!!

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I can’t wait to see your Candy Cane Ripple :)

  2. I wonder if ripping up something is as mch much as throwing dishes against the wall?

    • As much ‘fun’ you mean? You’re so funny! I would never have thought of comparing these two particular activities!

      To me, throwing dishes takes alot of energy and is all about destroying something in an effort to relieve stress, frustration or anger, while unraveling is low-key and pretty relaxing. It’s about reclaiming yarn that I can make it into something new. I end up with a pile of pretty yarn, instead of a pile of broken china! :D

  3. Christa says:

    Wow that is HUGE and looks thick and warm :)
    I would love to see what you made out of it :)

Leave a Reply

