Ideas for Future Watermelon Afghans – with Seeds!

Friday’s Watermelon Candy Cane Ripple turned out so well, I want to make some more watermelon blankets next summer. Obviously, watermelon candy canes don’t have seeds, but traditional watermelon crafts do. (I especially like the watermelon pedicure, which does have seeds, btw.) I want my next watermelon ripple to have seeds, too!

Look at this self-striping watermelon sock yarn. It has seeds. I’ve been thinking about how I could make some far simpler “seeded” yarn. I recently came across this great tutorial, by spencer and hilary, on how to make your own bakery twine with permanent felt pens. I think I can apply this technique to yarn. I realize using enough felt pen ink to color acrylic yarn could be detrimental to my brain cells, so I plan to do the “dyeing” outside and put very few “seeded” rows in my blanket. I’ll have to play and see how many inches of yarn it takes to make a two-stitch double-crochet “seed”.

Does anyone know a better way to get permanent black coloring onto pink acrylic yarn?

I also thought of a completely different solution. I could use the fair-isle crochet technique, crocheting with either pink or black yarn, while working over the carried/unused color. I wonder if a carried strand of black would peek out too much between the pink stitches. Hmmm, maybe if I did half-double crochet stitches, instead of my usual double-crochets, the pink would cover the black more completely.

Someday I’ll be able to tell you how my watermelon seed experiments turned out, but for now I’m sticking with my candy cane project. Number six in the series will be revealed soon!

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ideas for Future Watermelon Afghans – with Seeds!

  1. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    My friend knits baby hats in watermelon with the main body of the hat being pink and the ribbed edging around the face being 2 rows of white and 2 rows of green at the very bottom. Then to make the “seeds” she uses black fabric puff paint – it is three dimensional and looks really cute.

    • Your friend’s watermelon hats sound very cute!

      Fabric puff paint seeds is another good idea to consider. I’ve seen it used on slipper soles (just in Rav projects, not in-person) to make them slip-proof, so I assume it holds up in the wash, but I wonder what it feels like, since it will be on a blanket. Do you recall? Hmmm, I think I’d want to do it twice, on front and back of blanket. Also, is it easily peeled or picked off? I imagine little kids would try to do that. Questions, questions. Sounds like another experiment to add to my list!

      Thank you for sharing.

  2. Beth says:

    Don’t look to me for help….I don’t crochet! But I’m sure you’ll come up with something that will work.

  3. Kathy says:

    How about placing black beads strategically where you think you would like a seed to be? They have such pretty beads in all shapes & sizes (which I am sure your crafty self is aware of!)… Better yet… On one of your outings to your regular stores look for beads there or better yet a pretty black beaded necklace that you could unstring and restring on your watermelon afghan. Just a thought or two or three…lol. Enjoy your week & keep that smile in your heart smiling! You’re a blessing to many! Kathy

    • Beads!! The mental gears start spinning…

      I’ve never knitted or crocheted with beads, but I don’t think it would hard to learn how. I’d probably just buy pony beads; it shouldn’t be hard to find black ones. I donated a bunch recently, but I know there weren’t any black ones. :-) (Don’t you just hate it when you find a use for something you just gave away?!?)

      Hmmm, I still have some black wooden beads from making chunky folk-art necklaces, back in the day. I wonder how they’d handle going through the wash? Another experiment.

      Thank you, Kathy, both for sharing your ideas and for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

