Ripple of the Week #60 – Lime Candy Cane

I just Love! how the green variegated stripes in the center of this blanket seem to vibrate. If I’d known they could do that, I probably would have crocheted several more variegated stripes in its ends too. I suppose it’s just as well; that may have been too much of a good thing.

I am so happy that my second blanket made with this vintage yarn is prettier than my first! That is the only blanket I’ve ever given a frowney face in my Ravelry project pages. :-(

11,418 stitches – 720,362 donated so far this year

This tangy-looking ripple (DH says it could be called Sour Apple!) topped the tall stack of blankets I bagged for delivery to the library. It was especially important that all the Christmasy red, green and white ones got there in time for the DCF social worker’s pick-up yesterday, so foster children can get them by Christmas.

Arggh. I wish it had occurred to me to take a picture! Lime, Sour Cherry, Christmas Candy, Peppermint, Wintergreen, Spearmint, and Strawberry, there was so much cheerful comforting smooshy goodness gathered into one Big clear plastic bag!! I can’t help but grin when I think about the broad smiles I hope the blankets generate.

Phew, I’ve finished eleven candy cane ripples since the beginning of November!!

Although it’s been alot of fun to rev my crochet engine to its top speed, I’m more than ready to return to my normal ripple a week production, with a French Country ripple thrown in here and there for good measure. Since I’ve already matched four other candy cane flavors to color combos, I’m going to crochet them before calling the series complete.

You know, on second thought, I’d better not let my production slow just yet; it’s time for me to do some Christmas knitting!

This entry was posted in Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ripple of the Week #60 – Lime Candy Cane

  1. Edith says:

    It’s beautiful, I love the variegated yarns, wish we could get them here. Mosaic time? :-)

  2. Pretty. Pretty. That’s an awesome accomplishment with all those afghans!

  3. Bobbi says:

    Lime! OOoee! Pucker up! With that in my mind and the vision of lovely green stripes, my mouth waters! Those kids will love em! You do good work! Love your blankies!

  4. dandylines commented in Ravelry at 10:41 AM December 13, 2011:

    ” I like them all ! I do not think this one has too much white – it just mellows it out a bit.
    Again – great job for a great cause.

    You never seem to run out of great color combinations and ways to combine them. ”

    I replied:

    Thank you! I think you’re right about the white mellowing things. Perhaps that’s what I was meant to learn from all these candy cane ripples! Some white probably would have “saved” ripple #8!?

    This candy cane flavor series has made it very easy to come up with new color combinations. (Google is my friend.) And I didn’t need very much of each color of yarn, (good when you’re working from donations) because at least a third of every candy cane ripple has been white!

    Got any ideas for another color-combo series?

  5. jruss95 commented in Ravelry at 10:57 AM Dec. 15, 2011:

    ” perfect! “

Leave a Reply

