Scrap Ripple of the Week #16 – Corduroy Colors

I picked out the richest colors of yarn from those still remaining in my scrap box. There were at least twenty-four! and I thought they would look great mixed together with a light neutral color. After trying out a few different creams, ecrus, and tans, I settled on RHSS “Buff”. I was happy to find I had almost two skeins of it, more than enough to use it for every third row in my next ripple.

There’s no intricate stripe plan to read about today!

I gave myself just one other guideline, to use brown, alternating between putting it in every fifth or seventh row…

Starting with brown in row 5, then + 7 = brown in row 12 + 5 = 17 + 7 = 24 + 5 = 29, etc.

Then I lined up scrap balls for the first dozen or so rows and started crocheting.

Ta-Dah!!

Corduroy Colors

10,418 crochet stitches – 922,513 donated since Jan. 2011

I thought the two ‘bright’ purple rows would stand out, so I carefully placed them the same distance from the blanket’s ends. Instead, I see it’s a single row of Bright Blue that stands alone, a small ‘oops!’

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012, Scrappy Ripples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Scrap Ripple of the Week #16 – Corduroy Colors

  1. I think it’s a wonderfully pretty blend of colors. Good work.

  2. Bettina says:

    REALLY like this one!! :-)

  3. Edith says:

    Lovely! It’s got a ‘homey’ feel to it :-)

  4. Kathy says:

    Beautiful colors! Love the name too! Reminds me of saving my babysitting money all summer long to go to the mall and go into County Seat and buy as many as I could of Levi Strauss’ Corduroy pants for the new school year! I probably had every color in your afghan plus a few more extra colors ( loved my soft yellow colored ones)….36 years later and it seems like yesterday….thanks for the trip!…..Kathy
    PS…..don’t look for “oops”…. There isn’t any! It’s beautiful as it is!! Plus I had to really look at it to see what you saw! Your afghans always come out the way they are meant to be….beautiful!

    • What a fun ‘corduroy wardrobe’ you had and I bet you looked great in it! When was the last time you wore a pair? It was about 20 years ago for me, I think.

      I love how ‘Corduroy Colors’ turned out too!
      I didn’t mean to detract from it’s charm, but only to share my thoughts, plus… the purple is Much less Vivid in the photo than it is in person. :-)

      As always, you have a wonderful way with words. “Your afghans always come out the way they are meant to be….beautiful!”
      As I fan my blushing face… Thank You, Kathy.

Leave a Reply

