The Express V-Stitch Ripple Pattern

In July I wrote a post about the exceptionally nice V-stitch ripple afghan that I bought at a nearby thrift store.

One of my dear readers, Mara Thomas, SummerMelody in Ravelry, has amazed me, not only be figuring out that blanket’s crochet pattern just from looking at my photos of it, but by freely sharing the pattern with us!

Thank You, Mara!!

Aaaand. . . oh, my gosh, I’m so excited to have the privilege to post this. . .

Here it is!

The Express V-Stitch Ripple, A Pattern Unvented by Mara Thomas

Stitch Guide:

V-st – (dc, ch 1, dc) in next ch or ch 1 sp
Dc Dec - turns two dc into one – (yo, insert hook in next st, pull up a loop, yo, and pull thru 2 loops on hook) 2x, yo, pull thru 3 loops on hook                                                          Foundation Row Valley - skip 2 ch, then do a dc dec, skipping 2 ch between the 2 dc of the dec
Valley - work a dc dec in next 2 V-sts, skipping the dc dec of previous row that’s between the 2 V-sts
Mountain - ([dc, ch 1] 3x, dc) in next ch or ch 1 sp

Note: There is an optional single row border that you may want to add to the bottom of the beginning edge when you’re done. Make sure to consider this row when planning stripes.

Beginning Chain:

The V-Stitch Ripple Pattern is a Multiple of 27 chains, plus 5.

When crocheted using an H hook with a worsted weight yarn each pattern repeat forms a V, or point, that’s about 4 1/2″ wide. I say a ‘V’, because the pattern starts with a downhill run toward a valley, so the upper edge of your work will look the top of a row of Vs: VVVVVVVV

Foundation Row:

Work through back ridge of chain.

(Dc, ch 1, dc) into 5th ch from hook,
(skip 2 chs, V-st in next ch) 3x,
Work a Foundation Valley,

*(skip 2 chs, V-st in next ch) 3x, skip 2 chs,
Mountain,
(skip 2 chs, V-st in next ch) 3x,
Foundation Valley.

Repeat from * across to last 12 ch.

(Skip 2 chs, V-st in next ch) 3x,
skip 2 ch, ([dc, ch 1] 2x, dc) in last ch.

Row 2 (and all following rows, except the last row):

Ch 4, (dc, ch 1 and dc) in first ch 1 sp,
V-st in next three ch-1 spaces,
Valley,
*V-st in next three ch-1 spaces,
Mountain,
V-st in next three ch-1 spaces,
Valley.

Repeat from * across to last four ch 1 sps.
V-st in next three ch-1 spaces,
([dc, ch 1] 2x, dc) in last ch 1 sp.

Repeat row 2 for pattern until last row.

Last row:

Work as row 2, except only work 1 V-st in first and last ch-1 sp of row.

Optional Border for First Row:

Turn blanket upside down to work into the bottom of the first row.                                        Dc dec placing the first dc in the sp of the first upside down V-st and the second dc in the first ch 2 sp, V-st in next ch 2 sp.                                                                                                   Work the rest of the row as row 2 to last ch 2 sp.                                                                          Dc dec with the first dc in the next ch 2 sp and the second in the last upside down V-st of the row.

My First Express V-Stitch Ripple

These are the yarns I’ve gathered for my first V-stitch afghan. I’m calling it ‘V for Victory’ and would like to finish in time for Veterans Day.

Red, white, royal and light blue – I have at least ten ounces of each. I don’t know how much yarn this afghan will take, but I can’t imagine that I’ll need more than forty ounces! HAha. My other ripples take between 24 and 28.

Like usual, I want a kid-sized blanket of about 36″ wide. Mara says each pattern repeat makes a V about 4 1/2″ wide, so I need 8 repeats to get a blanket 36″ wide. (4 1/2″ x 8 = 36″) It will have eight points across the bottom – VVVVVVVV

Next, let’s figure out how many stitches to make in the beginning chain.

Mara tells us that “The V-Stitch Ripple Pattern is a Multiple of 27 chains, plus 5, sooo. . . 27 chains x 8 repeats = 216 chains, + 5 more, makes 221 chains to start. Since I don’t like double-checking my stitch count, I’m going to crochet a 225 stitch chain.

Here I go! Chain 1, chain 2. . . I’ll share some progress photos in a few days.

Come on, join me in making an Express V-stitch Ripple! What colors will you choose?

P.S. You can read two other posts about my first Express V-stitch Ripple, in-progress and  finished. My 36″ x 56″ blanket (77 rows) weighs 28 ounces.

P.P.S. Mara has built a Ravelry Express V-stitch Ripple pattern page, where you’ll hopefully be seeing many more examples very soon! Thank you Mara.

P.P.P.S. There are other free V-stitch Ripple Patterns. . . In September 2013, Red Heart introduced the ‘Splendid Ripple Throw’. Cahin Caha’s ‘Plaid Vague Vintage’ is great if you happen to be looking for one written in French. And, thanks to AnnB’s comment below, here’s one written for Bulky Weight Yarn with a size N Hook.

This entry was posted in Afghan Patterns, Ripple Afghans of 2012, V-Stitch Ripples and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Express V-Stitch Ripple Pattern

  1. daniellajoe says:

    Your colors are exactly :-)

  2. What a great find! And thanks to Mara for unventing the pattern!

  3. You know, somewhere I have the original pattern for this afghan. I remember showing my grandmother, an avid crocheter, an afghan I made with this design & she was astonished – she had never seen a V stitch ripple afghan in her life, after what, 60 years of crocheting at that point in time? I think I am inspired to make another one, in memory of my grandmother.

  4. Edith says:

    Oh wow! I love the v-stitch ripple, thanks for putting the pattern here for us, and thanks to Mara too! I’m looking forward to seeing your finished blanket, it’s going to be gorgeous in those colours.

    • You’re welcome! and I’ll pass on the thanks to Mara.

      I’m in love with how the colors are working together! I don’t think you can tell in the yarn photo, but the two skeins of red are subtly different so I’m alternating them, which adds just one more little delight for the eyes. :-)

  5. Mara says:

    You’re welcome ladies! A lot of thanks should go to Linda though for helping make the pattern actually understandable. She did a wonderful job editing and testing. Thanks Linda!

  6. WooHoo! You found out what it was! And these colors are going to be brilliant!

    I may have to join you….. after the holidays. lol First, I have to finish 2 more granny blocks for the Vanna swap, do up 2 holiday packages for swaps I’m in, finish this week’s hat challenge in the Harry Potter group, I think I have 3 dishcloth swaps to do for the holiday season, AND I’m joining 2 comfortghans with blocks donated from friends for a cousin whose husband died this summer. After that I’ll try to get my kids’ afghans done for Christmas. Hmm. Maybe if I grow 2 more sets of hands?

    My v-stitches always end up HUGE, but if the entire piece is v-st that shouldn’t be a problem. Hmm. Now, what colors do I want to use….

    • Clever Mara recognized the stitch immediately!
      And Thank You!! I’m lovin’ the color combo too.

      Sounds like you need 2 more sets of hands plus the superpower of living with NO sleep, cuz that’s quite the to-do list you’ve got there!

      Yay! – you, me, V-stitch. . . next year! I’d say set aside your V-stitch color picks now so the yarns don’t get swallowed by some other project in the meantime, but maybe that sort of thing never happens to you.

      Hmmm, HUGE v-stitches, eh? Mine are kinda tight, so the fabric is a little stiffer than I like. I think it’s just because this is the first time I’m crocheting a ‘real’ blanket with the pattern/stitch. Everything’s been swatches up until now. I bet my next one will be looser.

  7. kim says:

    approximately how much yarn did you use?

  8. rekha says:

    thank u so much muhhaaaaaaaaaaaa i need this pattern i love u so much

  9. maryellen says:

    Thank you so much for this pattern. What do you mean on the foundation row work in back ridge of chain?

    • Hi MaryEllen and Welcome to Alottastitches!

      As usual, I have loooong answer to a seemingly simple question, lol.
      I hope this helps!. . .

      There are three ways to work into a chain:

      #1 – Most of us were taught to work into the top of the chain. The top of a chain stitch looks just like the top of a single or double-crochet stitch. It has a pair of parallel yarn strands and you insert the hook under both of those strands.

      #2 – Some of us work under just one of the top strands, commonly called the front loop or back loop. This is easier and faster than working under both, but it can deceive us into believing that our chain is loose enough, when it’s really not, which can cause problems later on.

      #3 – I like working into the bottom, or back, of the chain best. It resembles a spine made of short single strand bumps that are centered on the chain. If you can easily insert your hook under each back bump, then you know that you’ve made your chain loose enough. Also, working into the back of the chain has the added advantage of making the bottom (beginning) edge of your blanket look just like its top (ending) edge.

      Mara Thomas, who wrote the pattern, obviously likes to work into the back too, but feel free to use whichever way you like best. Your V-Stitch Ripple will come out fine regardless. :-)

  10. Robin Moyher says:

    I had this pattern many years ago and am so glad to find it again! Thanks for sharing!

  11. AnnB says:

    I found the Leisure Arts ‘V-stitch Ripple Afghan’ pattern the other day. I e-mailed to ask if this was still a valid URL of the FREE pattern to share. The response, from Janie of Customer Service at Leisure Arts, Inc…..
    “You can share this page if you like.”
    Enjoy.

    http://us2.campaign-archive1.com/?u=2a091a437711eee885624a193&id=3dbe36410a&e=%5bUNIQID

  12. Judy says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this pattern and your finished afghan. Just beautiful. I’ve read and reread this pattern, and what I’m having trouble with is the statement that the pattern is a multiple of 27 plus 5. I finally had to chart the pattern: Each V stitch x3 covers 9 chains, each Valley and Mountain covers 3 chains (the skipped two chains plus the Mountain or Valley stitch). So if you complete 3 V-stitches, one Valley, 3 V-stitches, and one Mountain, that covers 24 chains. Logically for balance, you’d want to follow the Mountain with 3 V-stitches, which would make the stitch repeat 33 stitches. BUT as the foundation row ends with the same stitch it begins, you’d need 3 more chains to complete it–(skip 2 and [dc, ch1] x2 in the last chain. That would make the shortest possible foundation row 36 chains + 5. Bottom line: I must not be following the instructions correctly. Please help. I really want to do this correctly, so it is as pretty as yours. Thank you!

    • Hi Jan – Welcome to alottastitches!

      I’m so happy that you found Mara’s pattern through my blog. I last made a V-Stitch Ripple about a year ago, so I’m not sure how much help I can be to you, but I’ll certainly give it a try!

      How about starting with a look at the close-up photos in this other v-stitch post.

      Please let me know how things go with your next attempt.

  13. anjelawithaj says:

    I’m stumped on this piece. What do you mean by “or ch 1 sp” on the V stitch?
    “(dc, ch 1, dc) in next ch or ch 1 sp”

    • Hi Angela ~
      When you’re doing the foundation row you work into a chain stitch of your beginning chain but in any later row you work into the space below a chain stitch instead, as illustrated HERE.

      I hope this helps. :-)

  14. Katbol says:

    My Aunt made me that exact afghan in the 1970’s when I was a kid. It was the exact same color combo as the one you found in the thrift store. I loved it and still have it! Thanks for posting this. Now maybe I can make one for my niece.

    • Well, they are the classic 70’s colors; maybe there was a pattern back then written for that particular combination. So neat that you still have the afghan.

      You’re welcome. And thanks to Mara for writing up the pattern! I bet your niece would love one. . . made with other colors. lol

Leave a Reply

