2013′s Christmas Crayons

I made all of this year’s Christmas crayons right after I finished the Halloween batch in October. I used the same two sets of Jello Jiggler molds as last year

304D one of each holiday crayon

but added plain round blue and orange crayons that I molded in muffin tins so the kids will have more colors to pick from. As usual, Inspector Emily’s watchful eyes assured that every crayon is of high quality!

520 quality control

Making these immediately after the Halloween crayons was such a good idea! It meant one less kitchen mess to clean up and has allowed me to concentrate my efforts on making Christmas ripples these last few weeks. Though I admit that the bagging and tagging steps have been a welcome break from crochet.

520 sample bags of crayons

These oh-so-cute Santa bags were once zippered storage bags that I found at Dollar Tree when I was looking for marked down Halloween goody bags. The bags were a little too big and the zippers too rigid so I just sliced a bit off their tops!

I also got bags decorated with candy canes. You’ll get to see those next Christmas.

Forty-seven sets, 282 Christmas crayons in all, are already on their way to foster children.

520 47 bags

I’d really like to make 2014′s Easter and Summer crayon sets in the next couple of months when the extra heat created by running the stove top and oven for hours on end will be most appreciated but I need more old crayons, yellow ones in particular, before the fun can begin. Hopefully my request will soon be answered. I know there are lots of crayons somewhere in the recycling pipeline that LA, our charity’s leader, has set up. Middle-school volunteers and Girl Scouts save me so much time by collecting crayons, sorting them by color and removing labels in return for community service hours.

This entry was posted in Recycling Crayons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2013′s Christmas Crayons

  1. Verneta says:

    God bless you for the happiness you bring to children who will never have the pleasure of meeting you. This is a true example of the Spirit of Christmas. Merry Christmas to you and your family, Linda!

  2. You amaze me with all you do. Such energy! And, more than that, such compassion.

Leave a Reply

