Thrifty New Knitting Books

Not every thrifty buy comes from a thrift store. The closest Borders store was closing and I had a $25 gift card I wanted to use up. I paid $20 for it with reward money from one of our credit cards. That’s like getting 25% more free book money on top of free book money; who can argue with that?! I waited until everything in the store was 40% off, because I’m used to shopping there regularly with 40% off coupons.

I started out with two tall piles of knitting, crocheting, sewing and weaving books and sat down in the aisle to go through them. What a lovely way to spend some free time! Eventually I narrowed the piles down to just these two: The Knitter’s Guide to Hand-dyed and Variegated Yarn by Lorna Miser, the founder of Lorna’s Laces, and The Big Book of Socks by Kathleen Taylor.

Their full price, with sales tax, would have been almost $50.00. The 40% discount brought the total down to $29.85, including sales tax, and my gift card left less than $5.00 for me to pay. Whoo-hoo! Linda scored!

This entry was posted in Thrifty Treasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

