Freshly Baked Crayons

Back in February I got a huge amount of crayons from the Goodwill outlet with plans to make molded crayons for Easter baskets. Right away, I removed all their paper labels, sorted them by color and broke them into little pieces. I’ve watched for appropriate shaped molds at the thrift stores ever since.

Today I decided to use the silicone muffin tin liners I have and make chunky rainbow crayons instead. I need to get these finished if the Easter Bunny’s going to deliver them!

It was weird to pull a cookie sheet out of the oven with my bare hands, but the oven was only up to 135 degrees at this point. The crayons are already starting to melt!

The silicone cups are sturdy enough to stand up on their own, which makes it easy to pick them up, something I wouldn’t be able to do if they were in a muffin tin. I can tuck the individual cups here and there in the freezer, where it only takes a few minutes for them to harden. I peeled the silicone cups from the cooled crayons, then refilled them and got them back into the oven to melt another batch.

My little crayon factory produced forty-eight chunky crayons today from two and a half pounds of used crayons.

I put three rainbow crayons in each sandwich bag. To make them look a little more special I tied my Rainbow Crayon tags on with yellow satin ribbons.

This entry was posted in Recycling Crayons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freshly Baked Crayons

  1. Beth says:

    These are just too cool! Am going to have to show them to the teen-ager so she can play too.

Leave a Reply

