A Camera Sock

I came across this camera sock pattern, by “not an artist”, shortly after I finished knitting my sock yarn mittens and I thought it would be a perfect use for some more of my leftover sock yarn. Hopefully it will protect my camera’s screen from getting scratched when I toss it my purse or tote bag and the bright-colored yarn might help me find it among all the other things in there!

In her “stupendous sony sock” project notes in Ravelry, “testkitchen45” shared the dimensions of the camera that “not at artist” used for writing the pattern, 3 1/2″ x 2.2″ x 1.1″. My camera is the same length, so that part of the pattern I can follow. I slid my camera into my sock yarn mitten and found its 60 stitches are a great fit for my camera’s circumference. Now I’m ready to knit!

I’ve already cast-on for my camera sock and I’m expecting a quick and easy knit, so once I’ve done a couple of rows of 2×2 ribbing, I’m going to pop in a movie. I’ll let you know how things went when I’ve finished knitting my sock.

Well, it took me longer than a single movie, but I did finish knitting my camera sock today. It fits well and is pretty darn cute, if I do say so myself! This was my first time doing a three needle bind-off, which I used instead of grafting the sock’s last stitches. It was a simple way to finish the sock and was very easy to learn from this planetpurl video.

That’s my old camera, which is rather long and narrow, modeling the sock. It fits my new camera, busy shooting this photo, even better. The ribbed edging contracts nicely over its end to keep the camera from falling out. There’s still some yarn left! Maybe my sister needs a camera sock too.

This entry was posted in Socks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

