Ripple of the Week #19

Although I crocheted it with only three colors and a simple repeated pattern of two-row stripes, this ripple afghan makes a very strong statement!

Shazam!

10,292 crochet stitches  –  236,730 stitches donated this year

Edited May 12, 2011 to change name from Red, Purple and Black to Shazam! My thanks to psmflowerlady/Tammy for the wonderful suggestion!

Shazam is defined by The Online Slang Dictionary as “an interjection suggesting something happens automatically or as if by magic”.  It was first used in Captain Marvel Comics during the 1930’s, and had nothing to do with genies (see comments, below). Shazam is also the name of an iPhone app, just one of the many things you can learn through Google!

Shazam! It certainly explains the way I feel about making my ripples. I sit and watch the piece of crocheted fabric, in its varied stripes, appear as if by magic from my hook!

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ripple of the Week #19

  1. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    When I saw it, I thought “SHAZAM”

  2. Linda says:

    Cromad/Edith commented in Ravelry. Sent 5:08 AM May 12, 2011:

    “Your BRIGHT ripple is fantastic! I love colours that smack you in the face, I’m just not brave enough to use them LOL! I’ll bet some child will be really happy with that one :-)”

    I replied:

    Thank you for the compliment! I put out a request for name suggestions, so the poor thing wouldn’t be stuck with “Red, Purple and Black”. BRIGHT would have been a good name for it too!

  3. Linda says:

    Cromad/Edith commented in Ravelry. Sent 9:05 May 16, 2011:

    “LoL, I would have called your bright ripple ‘SMACK’. It’s so cute!”

Leave a Reply

