This One’s Not a Ripple

I’ve been thinking about how I could use up some of my growing collection of variegated scrap yarns. Is there a simple crochet blanket pattern that would look good made from many variegated yarns? My mind keeps going back to the classic granny square afghan. They’re often made with a wide assortment of colors. Traditionally, the last round on every square is black or white, and forms a framework or lattice between all the patches of color once the blanket’s squares are joined, like in this one.

Thank you to Jhoanna Monte Aranez for allowing me to share her granny afghan photo with you through Creative Commons. I found it in this post on her blog, One Red Robin.

My version of the granny will have one variegated yarn and one coordinating solid in each block. I don’t know what color I’ll use for the lattice rounds, but I don’t think it’ll be black or white.

I sort all my variegated scraps into color families and then choose the largest group, which is pinks, purples, and blues, for my granny.

Next I add all my little solid scrap yarn balls that are of coordinating colors. These balls don’t contain enough yarn to make even a single row in a ripple afghan, but they’re perfect for little granny squares. After all, the center round of a granny square only takes about two yards of yarn. After adding a few more colors from my regular scrap ball box, I’m sure I have more yarn in here than I’ll need for a child’s size blanket of about 36″ x 54″. Notice that I’m using one of my freebie storage boxes to hold all this yarn.

I have to figure out how much yarn I will need for my granny squares’ third rounds, which will form the blanket’s lattice. I add the number of clusters (each cluster is three double crochet stitches) that are in the first round, four clusters, and in the second round, eight clusters, for a total of twelve clusters made from scrap balls. Then I compare that to the number of clusters in the third, or lattice round, which will be all one color. That is also twelve clusters. So I figure the amount of yarn used in rounds one and two is about equal to that used in round three, the lattice round. This means half of the yarn in my granny will be used in its lattice rounds.

I estimate that my granny blanket will weigh at least twenty-four ounces, because that’s the average weight of my ripple afghans, which are about the same size. I know I need at least half that, or twelve ounces of yarn, to make my lattice rounds. After trying a few different yarns, I decide I’ll use Red Heart’s “Pale Green”, or what I’d call aqua, for my lattice. It’s the only coordinating color of yarn I have enough of. I’m actually using three slightly different shades. Hopefully it will look o.k. if I scatter all three over the entire blanket.

I’ll give you another peek once I’ve crocheted a few more blocks.

This entry was posted in Design Process, Granny Afghans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This One’s Not a Ripple

  1. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    Can’t wait to see it – that is my favorite combo of colors – cool jewels. Another option that I like for variegated yarns is a VVS because the variegation becomes “speckles” at least to my eye. It probably wouldn’t work though for some of your very small bits and bobs like your granny will, but something to keep in your back pocket!

    • Linda says:

      Ooooo! That sounds like another good blanket name, “Cool Jewels”!
      I’ve never made a VVS, but I’ll keep it in mind; thanks for the idea.

  2. Linda says:

    RBUTKA62 commented in Ravelry. Sent at 7:13 AM May 15, 2011:

    “Very Beautiful already,I love it.”

    I replied:

    Thank you!! This is going to be a slow project compared to my speedy ripples. I’m looking forward to watching how it changes along the way.

Leave a Reply

