Today’s the Day for Yarn Ends – 640 of ’em!

Today I began the dreaded process of weaving in the remaining 640 yarn ends on my granny squares. I’m also doing the more magical process of blocking. Yes, even acrylic yarn can benefit from blocking.

After weaving in the ends and clipping any remaining yarn tips, I dry block each granny square (using no water or steam) by stretching it to its full three-and-a-half-inch dimensions and pinning the four corners to my folded dressmaker’s cutting board. It’s heavy cardboard printed with a one-inch grid. Yes, I found mine at a thrift store and I’ve used it for many years. Opened to its full-size of 36″ x 60″, it’s handy for pinning all kinds of things. I cover it with plastic if I want to do wet blocking.

Notice how I angle all four corner pins outward. That keeps the square from pulling the pins out as it tries to contract back to its original form. Squares this small do fine with just those four pins. If they were larger, I would use more pins along the sides. By the time I’ve woven ends, clipped them and pinned out the fifth square, I can release the first one and reuse its’ pins.

I’ve already blocked the row at the bottom of the photo. You can see how much more “pointed” their corners are after blocking. Having all the granny squares blocked to the same size and with squared up, rather than rounded, corners will make the next step, joining the squares together, easier for me.

This entry was posted in Other Afghans and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s the Day for Yarn Ends – 640 of ’em!

  1. Edith says:

    Ouch…that’s a LOT of ends…rather you than me!

  2. Wow you have patience! I hope you don’t mind me commenting so much – but your blog is awesome!

    • Linda says:

      Patience? not so much, maybe more like determination. Set me up with good videos or podcasts and I can push through!

      Of course I don’t mind!! The more the merrier! 🙂
      Thank you! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

