A Bowlful of Ends

One bowlful of yarn ends.

One set of 160 completely finished and blocked granny squares.

What a satisfying moment!

Looking at the entire group of granny squares from every angle, I shifted squares around until I liked the way all the colors were arranged. Then I suddenly wondered, why had I made only two squares containing that bright pink!?! See the one in the lower left area of the photo? It’s there in the darker aqua border column. Zing! And a second one is in the lower right, in the last column of the lighter aqua squares. Zing! Laughing…

Is there any more of that chocolate ice cream?

Hey, any lame excuse will do; it’s a great ice cream!  If you’re looking for rich chocolate flavor in a low-fat ice cream, try Lovin’ Scoopful’s Out of This World Chocolate, or, for a sweeter chocolate treat, What the Fudge. (an unsolicited recommendation) I hope you can find some in a store near you.

Linda Cash asked me how I weave in my ends. Thanks for asking. I guess I should have included this information back in Today’s the Day for Yarn Ends, the very first post about granny’s yarn ends. Anyway – to answer your question fully, I’m going to talk about how I deal with some yarn ends while I’m crocheting the squares, not just after the square is finished.

Beginning tail of first round:
When I begin a granny’s center chain ring I leave a yarn tail about five inches long, then I work over that tail while making all twelve of the first round’s double crochet stitches into the chain ring. Once I’ve finished with the round I tug on the beginning tail, which cinches up the center hole. I let the remainder of the first round’s beginning tail hang until the granny square is finished. Or in the current example, until ALL the granny squares are finished. lol

Then I use a yarn needle to weave the yarn end back through the base of several of the double crochet stitches that I made into beginning chain ring. I do this again with at least one more group of several stitches, so I’ve gone more than half-way back around the circle, then I trim the end closely.

Beginning tail of 2nd and 3rd rounds:
The method I use for weaving in the beginning tails of the 2nd and 3rd rounds are shown this Bethintxl video, Changing Colors & Drawing in Yarn Tails as You Go.

Ending tail of all three rounds:
The last step of all three granny rounds is making two chain stitches and then slip stitching into the top of that round’s beginning three stitch chain. I also slip stitch into the tops of the round’s first two double crochets and into the first chain of the corner, which brings the yarn over to the corner. I cut the yarn here, leaving a five inch tail. Then I work over the tail while making that corner’s six double crochet stitches in the next round. The remainder of each round’s ending tail is left hanging.

When the square is finished I use a yarn needle to weave each ending tail down through a double crochet stitch and then back through the base of a group of double crochet stitches. I often weave it back up into another double crochet stitch before clipping.

I hope that answers your question completely. Every crocheter develops their own ways of dealing with ends. These just happen to be mine for a multi-colored granny square.

This entry was posted in Other Afghans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Bowlful of Ends

  1. Edith says:

    Nearly finished! Are you going to sew or crochet the squares together?

  2. Linda says:

    Thank you for the detailed information on how to finish ends. I will use this as it seem to be very secure especially with different weaving directions. Enjoy your posts and inspiration!

  3. Linda says:

    I hope you find these methods work well for you. It would be interesting to see how a granny completed this way holds up while going through the washer a dozen times! Thank you for your encouragement.

  4. Sandi says:

    OH ~ MY ~ GOSH!! What an absolutely wonderful idea for the center of the granny square!! I never even thought of pulling that tail to tighten up the center hole!! I will try it on my very next granny square!! THANKS LINDA!!

    • I don’t know where I got the idea to tug on the yarn tail, but it does help shrink the center hole.
      There’s another method I’ve heard of, called the magic circle, which is sure to do away with the hole completely! I should probably practice doing it. LOL. Looks easy enough.

      Note: We’d be working double crochets into the magic circle as we start a granny square, not the single crochets shown in that video.

Leave a Reply

