Ripple of the Week #27

I pulled this ripple out of my blanket stash. Although I already photographed it back in the winter…

9,920 stitches – 329,166 stitches donated so far this year

I couldn’t resist shooting it again when I noticed how well these blue flowers matched! We got them at a plant swap several years ago and have never discovered their proper name, so we still call them the Little Blue Flowers.

Little Blue Flowers

I chose several solid yarns to coordinate with the colors in a variegated yarn; what an easy way to begin planning a blanket!

Here’s the striping pattern I used: two rows pale green, one variegated, one row blue, one variegated, then two more pale green. Next a row of white. Then I just repeated them all again, and again,  (2 G – V – Blu – V – 2 G)  White…   (2 G – V – Blu – V – 2 G ) White…

and before I knew it, the blanket was finished. Ta-da!

This entry was posted in Design Process, Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ripple of the Week #27

  1. Edith says:

    Very pretty, looks beautiful next to the ‘Little Blue Flowers’ 🙂 When do you take the ripples to the drop off point? Do you take a ripple a week or do you wait until you have a certain amount?…just curious.

    • Linda says:

      Thank you! I think it’s prettier when it’s next to those flowers than when it’s on that cold snowbank! How about you?! LOL
      I usually go every two or three weeks. It depends if I have some other things to donate (like plastic Easter eggs or recycled crayons :D) or another reason to go to the library where the box is. It was on my errand list anyway, but I also got an email that there are some more crayons waiting there for me today. Whoo-hoo!

  2. Again, you’re an inspiration. I would love to knit these colors in a feather and fan pattern. How long did it take you?

    • Linda says:

      I’m so glad to hear that the colors of my Little Blue Flower crocheted ripple have inspired you! I look forward to seeing your knitted blanket. I knitted a feather and fan for a wedding gift several years ago; it’s a lovely pattern.

      Since the ripple pattern I use is primarily double crochet stitches it goes quite quickly. I estimate that I spend about ten hours crocheting one of my child-sized blankets; they’re approximately 35″ x 54″.

  3. Linda says:

    myknittingcircle commented in an email on July 6, 2011 at 6:46 pm:

    “TEN hours! Is that all? I’ve been told that crochet is quicker than knitting, but that it also takes up more yarn. However, your Ripple is lovely.”

    I replied:

    Someone else asked me the very same question in Ravelry a few months ago, so I timed myself for an hour while working on an afghan of two-row stripes. I averaged 6 minutes per row. From that I figured an 84 row ripple (my average for a child) would take me about eight and a half hours. (6 x 84 = 504 minutes, or 8 hrs and 24 min) Of course, the set-up row for the pattern always goes more slowly and if I did single-row stripes or a very complicated color sequence, they would take a little more time too. I’ve never timed my color planning time either, so I just rounded my estimate up to 10 hours.

    I’ve read in several places that crocheting takes about 1/3 more yarn than a comparable knitting project. If you were to compare plain knit and crochet fabrics using the same yarn, made with the recommended size needles or hook, the crochet fabric would be thicker, because a crochet stitch is made of several loops v.s. a single loop in a knit stitch.

    I don’t mind that it uses more yarn, I have plenty in my charity yarn stash!

  4. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    I’ve been out of town all week and just checking in – another Winner Ripple! Your color sense is incredible. Re: crochet vs knit yardage – I read somewhere that garter stitch is just about the same but that stockinette is about 30% less as you said. That doesn’t make sense to me, but garter is squishier – to use the technical term – and that does coincide with what you said.

    • Linda says:

      Welcome home! I hope you had a pleasant time away. Thank you for the compliments!

      I’d never heard stockinette and garter stitch yarn usage compared to each other and crochet that way before. Interesting. No wonder garter stitch feels like it takes forever compared to stockinette! Just one garter stitch baby blanket was enough for me. Your description of garter stitch as “squishier” makes perfect sense. I would compare stockinette to a sheet of paper and garter stitch to the corrugated paper that’s inside of cardboard. All those ups and downs in the fabric take more yarn.

Leave a Reply

