Granny Needs a Border

The conjoined granny strips are all sewn together and I’ve already started weaving in the yarn ends left after sewing. My granny afghan is very close to being finished!

Emily seems very satisfied with it just as it is, but I want to add a multi-colored border.

These are the colors I’m considering using. Perhaps there’s enough of the light aqua left for a tiny slip-stitch outermost edging. I went shopping for more light aqua and red violet yarns. With all of my tag sale and thrift store yarn finds it’s been a long time since I purchased yarn for a charity project from a “regular” store! The only light aqua I saw was sport-weight, but I was happy to have found this Red Heart Soft “Berry” at Michaels. (Of course, I used a 40% off coupon.)

I see some crochet border swatching in my future. While I deliberate over them I can finish working in these ends.

This entry was posted in Other Afghans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Granny Needs a Border

  1. That’s so much prettier than the usual black, orange, red colors I usually see on granny squares..

    • Linda says:

      Thanks, glad you enjoyed seeing my granny. I’ve been working on this one for so long, (it’s first post was on May 12) I thought folks might be tired of looking at it by now! 🙂

      If you want to see lots of grannies in other colors, you might enjoy visiting Flickr’s Grannysquare gallery. Beware, there are over 5000 photos! (I did see a couple with black/orange/red. lol)

  2. shyannlindy says:

    Love the color choices for the border! From memory, the best looking borders had good color contrast from row to row. This site was really helpful to me, but I am sure you are familiar with it http://www.crochetcabana.com/tutorials/borders.html
    How about something similar to her Big 5 border? With your intuitive color sense, you will find just the right combinations. I fight with color design so your site encourages me to experiment. Can’t wait to see what you design!!!

    • Linda says:

      Thank you. Yes, this blanket needs a border with strong contrast to stand up to all the colors in the body. Although it’s a small blanket, I think it can handle a relatively wide and potent border. As usual, my design may be limited by the amount of yarn I have, but I’m up to the challenge.

      No, I’m not well acquainted with Crochet Cabana. I like the Big 5 Border, you found there! I find the dots of color near the edge to be very interesting. I’m tempted to try one of my variegated yarns in place of the green they used.

      Thank you for your great confidence in my color sense! lol. I do best when I go with the flow and and let my subconscious rule for awhile.

  3. Oooh wow that is GORGEOUS. (surfed over from Northern Narratives). Really really fabulous. My cats are as keen on my projects as your’s is on your blanket :).

    • Linda says:

      Welcome to alottastitches, Donnla!

      Thank you so much.

      Emily thinks like a Princess; if the world operated according to her rules, every blanket I make would be hers!!

Leave a Reply

