Choosing One Market Bag Pattern

I just got this one pound bag of worsted weight cotton at a thrift store; it was only $3.00!

It made me think of all the other cotton yarns I’ve gotten recently: the dark blue  from Sal’s, eight balls from a donation, and the camo from a tag sale. I want to use some of it to crochet something for a charity fundraiser.

I’ve noticed how popular market bags are, which means they’re likely to sell well. Everyone can use at least one more! I went looking for a great free market bag pattern. I liked so many, I forced myself to narrow the field to just the crocheted ones for now, assuming they’d be faster for me to make, but I still couldn’t decide on just one. I’m going to crochet a sample of each of my favorites.

Whit’s Knits’ Crocheted Stash Basket calls for two skeins (284 yards) of Rustic Silk, which is a worsted weight yarn. It’s a very unique design and makes a bag 13″ wide x 9″ tall. It seems rather short and squat to me; I’m tempted to make it a little taller.

Next is the Seaside Tote by Stephanie Gage, which is about the same size, 12″ x 10 1/2″. The familiar granny stitch makes a more open fabric than the Stash’s, which probably means it would go more quickly. This pattern calls for two skeins of Queensland Haze (550 yards total) which is a DK weight yarn. If I make it from my worsted cotton, my bag should end up a littler larger than their example. Someone in Ravelry says they made one from four small balls of Sugar ‘n Cream (480 yards). That’s alot more yarn than the Stash Basket, but it could be faster to make.

The Market Bag from Lion Brand has a hobo bag’s styling. It’s 16″ diameter sounds roomy enough to hold alot of anything, and yet it only takes about 400 yards of yarn! I’ll definitely make one of these! Although it’s called The Market Bag, I can imagine it being used for much more than just shopping.

Then there’s the open mesh Reusable Crocheted Grocery Bag from CassieMarie Madison at The Adventures of Cassie. There aren’t any measurements given in the pattern, but the consensus in Ravelry is that it has about an 11″ diameter and a 10 1/2″ height. I found pattern modifications for a 15″ diameter version in the comments posted below the pattern. Because of the open nature of this bag’s fabric, it uses very little yarn, just 150 yards of a worsted weight.

That’s four market bag patterns that I’d like to try, of four very different styles. I may need even more cotton yarn!

Luckily, I had a bagful up in the attic! I got it all at Sal’s in March of last year, B.B.*. The balls were $2.00 each, and the cones were $3.00 each, which is rather funny because the balls are 12 or 14 ounces and the cones are 14 ounces. I guess the cones seem to hold more, being more densely wound than a squishy ball? shrug. Anyway, I think I probably have enough to at least begin my market bag experiment! (The cone on the left looks smaller, because I’ve already started crocheting my first bag. I promise, I’ll show you how it’s going very soon.)                                                                                                                                             *Before Blog

This entry was posted in Bag Patterns, Crocheted Bags, Yarn Stash and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Choosing One Market Bag Pattern

  1. northernnarratives says:

    Market bags are so handy for so many things. Can’t wait to see your finished bags! Judy

    • Linda says:

      Yes, I can see many uses for them. Especially, because there are so many different kinds of market bags!!
      You’ll have be patient. LOL. I’ve suddenly got too many projects going at once!!

  2. I take a knitted market bag when I go to my local farmer’s market and always get comments on it. A friend knitted a large one for me that’s HUGE and I use it to store plastic bags to reuse.

Leave a Reply

