Crocheted Stash Basket – in Progress

I’ve made great progress on the Crocheted Stash Basket, the first of four market bag patterns I’m planning to try. So far this pattern has been easy to follow and it only requires the chain, single, and double crochet stitches. What a fast and fun crochet project! I’ve already finished the bag’s solid sc bottom and I’m working on the fifth pattern repeat of its side.

I inadvertently used a size H hook (5 mm), instead of the size I (5.5 mm) in the pattern, so my gauge is a little tighter than recommended, but it looks fine to me! The yarn I’m using is Peaches and Cream “Peppercorn Ombre”, a $3 thrift store find.

This entry was posted in Crocheted Bags and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crocheted Stash Basket – in Progress

  1. shyannlindy says:

    You are so adept at using up yarn! Every time I start a project to destash, I must buy more yarn to finish it! How do you do it?!! I thought I way overbought the first time, too.

    • Linda says:

      I don’t think about destashing; I just design all my charity projects around the yarns I have on hand, which is currently about eighteen boxes! (You’ve probably already read about my rows per ounce method, or “Ripple Recipe”, in Ripple After Ripple.) My entire charity yarn stash comes from yarn other people have destashed through direct donations, tag sales and thrift stores, what I call the “secondary yarn market”. I rarely buy yarn to finish something; the red violet yarn I recently got for the granny’s border is the first charity yarn I’ve bought from the “primary yarn market”, LYS, craft supply stores, etc., since I started this blog six months ago!

      In reference to the crocheted bag in this post: When it’s finished, there won’t be enough of this Peppercorn yarn left to make a second bag. That colorway has been discontinued, so I couldn’t easily get more of it anyway, but I’ll either use some plain colored cotton yarn, which I already have, along with the leftovers to make a second one, or I’ll make a style of bag that uses less yarn. If there’s still some yarn left after that, it’ll be used to make an even smaller project.

Leave a Reply

