Ripple of the Week #29

“Iris” is one of the few ripples remaining from last year’s stash. I photographed it out on the snow bank, just like I did so many others last winter. I was reluctant to show you, because the shot was so dreary. Why, even the fresh snow appeared grey!

9,920 stitches – 350,232 donated so far this year

DH helped me create a new photo for the ripple with our lilac and bridal veil bushes as a backdrop. As goofy as the setup might be, I think it’s to my little blanket’s advantage. (Next time I’ll ask him to wear a green shirt.) With the new photo comes a new name…

Lilacs

This ripple is smaller than usual, only 30″ x  45″. Explaining its small size, I remember the olive-green yarn came on a cone and was finer than I usually use, so I probably used a size F or G hook (3.75 or 4 mm) with it. Also, I crocheted this one before I began modifying the Rustic Ripple pattern by making ten, instead of nine, dc stitches in each uphill or downhill run. I’m going to attach a note recommending it be given to someone as a comfy little lap blanket.

Our charity group hosts a monthly Bingo party at a nearby nursing home. It’s become quite a hit, with as many as forty attendees and the winners choose from several prizes offered. Maybe my little ripple will become someone’s Bingo prize!

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ripple of the Week #29

  1. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    What a great idea – door prize! Iris is the perfect size and color combo for that! Another lovely – keep rocking the hook!

  2. I have no doubt that someone will choose your ripple as a Bingo prize! I sure would.

    • Linda says:

      gasp. Wouldn’t that be a horrible feeling, if no one picked it?!?
      Nah, someone will like it, if only because it has purple in it. lol.

  3. Edith says:

    Amazing what a difference the background makes to the blanket, it looks great by the lilac and bridal veil bushes….makes me want to sit in the garden with the blankie over my lap…oh, and a cup of hot chocolate wouldn’t go amiss either lol!

    • Linda says:

      I’m laughing at the thought of sitting in my garden sipping hot chocolate, as we’re back to 90+ degree highs. Your South African winter temps are another matter. I’ll gladly share my blankie, but you’ll have to go the hot drink on your own. I join you with root beer in my super-chilling slushy mug. Cheers! 😀

  4. linda says:

    12:27 PM
    amAlison commented in Ravelry. Sent July 20, 2011 at 12:10 PM:

    “The green/olive colour works so well with the different ripples. Very refreshing!”

    I replied:

    “I had my doubts about having used so much of the olive color, but it does feel rather cooling in the summer heat, doesn’t it?!? Thank you.”

Leave a Reply

