Ripple of the Week #32

What a flamboyant splash of color this afghan makes! Inspired by the flush of my Oriental Poppies’ annual bloom, it seems guaranteed to bring warm comfort and smiles to the foster child who chooses it.

Inspired by Poppies!

11,962 Stitches  – 385,982 Donated So Far This Year

Although I did make it from yarn scraps, I hope this blanket surpasses the stereotype of a “scrap afghan” as only being a place to use up (get rid of) a mixture of any and all yarns available. I’m so fortunate to have been able to choose all these different shades of red and orange from my box of scrap yarn balls. What a tremendous charge of creative energy I got at the moment when realized I could actually create the poppy blanket I imagined! ZAP!!

I think I did a good job of capturing the many colors seen in a cluster of Oriental Poppy blossoms, in their highlights and shadows, in the newest and most-aged of their petals.

Although I may have been a little over-bearing with the amount of black I included in my interpretation, I think I captured the essence of Oriental Poppies. This blanket fairly shouts, “Inspired by Poppies!!!”

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ripple of the Week #32

  1. Linda says:

    BayouGramma commented in Ravelry. Sent at 9:00 AM Today

    She said: “Ooooo!!! I like it!”

    And I replied: “Thanks!! You gave me a big smile! :D”

  2. Edith says:

    Stunning! This will definitely cheer up a dull room 🙂

  3. You’re really awesome! Did you know that?

    • Linda says:

      Really? Little ‘ole me? I’m just making kids’ afghans out of junk yarn. 🙂

      Seriously, you’re very nice to say such a thing, thank you.

  4. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    Artistic, utilitarian and generous = Awesome

  5. Linda says:

    Nature66 commented in Ravelry, Sent at 5:46 PM August 9, 2011.

    She said: “Gorgeousness!”

  6. Linda says:

    atelierdesoyun commented in Ravelry, Sent at 6:48 AM August 10, 2011.

    She said: “looking great!”

  7. Kathy says:

    I really love this one! I loved it when I first saw it on August 10th….just had to let you know! It’s BEAUTIFUL !!!……Kathy

  8. Kathy says:

    Congrats! Nothing like having one of your beautiful afghans to represent the pattern that has been the backbone of it all! But those colors are so gorgeous … I love red, yellow, & orange tones together and this is from someone who does not favor the color red (not for myself…others yes)…Plus your photo in the garden with poppies made it stand out even more! You are so creative Linda!…..Kathy

  9. Kathy says:

    You must have brought me good luck! Ravelry asked to use two of my photos for the Trophy Afghan…keep up your good work…Kathy

    • Congratulations! It’s a lovely afghan, worthy of a special feature.
      It was very nice of you to give them so many photos to pick from too!
      You notice how few I take, just straight on and close-up – boring, boring me. haha

Leave a Reply

