A Re-Finished Afghan

One of the two thrift store afghans I snatched some yarn from is ready to begin its new life.

Surf and Turf

I’m quite pleased with its new border:

I began with a white row in the half-double crochet stitch. Then, with tan, I did one row of double-crochet and a neat little slip-stitch chain edge: chain two, skip one stitch, slip stitch in the next stitch, repeat. This adds the tiniest of scallops for a subtle bumpy edge. It’s the same edging I used to finish the border on “Cool Jewels”.

Here are a few other simple crocheted edgings (That piggy tail edging just cracks me up!) and three rather elaborate ones you might like to try.

This entry was posted in Afghan Edgings and Borders, Re-finished Afghans, Thrifty Treasures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Re-Finished Afghan

  1. Beth says:

    So, can this be called, “repurposing?” Nice work.

    • Linda says:

      Mmmmm, it could go either way, but I don’t think so. IMHO “repurposing” implies a conversion to a new use, so I’d say, it was a blanket, it’s still a blanket, the yarn I took away will become another blanket, all the same purpose. lol

      DH says, yes it is, that it didn’t fulfill my idea of a comfort blanket to be given to a foster child, it’s intended purpose, until I’d messed with it by adding a border!!

      You’ve got me thinking more about what I meant by “re-finishing”, too. It was a simple finished blanket when I bought it, and even if I hadn’t removed any yarn from it, the addition of the new border was “re-finishing” it, as in, finishing it again. Like when someone refinishes an old piece of furniture, I hoped to make it a little better than it was before.

      I wonder if I can ever answer a question with a simple yes or no. LOL.
      and Thank You.

  2. Edith says:

    This one shouts BOY! It’s just right, with a camo feel, some young man is going to be very happy 🙂 Love the border too!

  3. Linda says:

    Beth replied in an email on August 15, 2011:

    “Life’s no fun if we answer with a plain yes or no. Hubby says that if you ask a Southerner a question, you’ll get back a story in return.”

    And then, on August 16, 2011, I said:

    “I’ll have to look for another excuse for myself; I’m originally from the Midwest and have lived in New England for over thirty years!! LOL :D”

  4. DrLfan says:

    Unless you’re being interrogated or being questioned in court, we can elaborate and say what we really think. I like your responses that share your truth. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

