Ripple of the Week #33 – Another Double Baby Yarn Ripple

This ripple’s colors are so sweet! They make me think of..

Cotton Candy

I created its soft bands of color by holding two strands of baby yarn together. Sometimes both strands were the same color, but often they were two different colors. Changing just one strand of color at a time helped me blend one color into the next. You might remember; it’s the same technique that I used when I made “Cool Lime-Mint”.

11,690 Stitches – 397,542 Stitches Donated So Far This Year

I think I used seven different baby yarns in this blanket; my notes don’t tell me for sure. I know that only the darker peach was a regular worsted-weight yarn. The rest of the colors were made with two strands of baby yarn.

Oh, and I used a size I hook, so the blanket is soft, with a nice drape.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ripple of the Week #33 – Another Double Baby Yarn Ripple

  1. Beth says:

    This reminds me of Leo brand of stick candy that’s Pure Sugar. Loved it. When I see these colors together, I can smell the candy.

    • Linda says:

      I think the colors and the smell are the nicest things about cotton candy. To just see its pastel tints and catch a whiff of that heavy sugary scent hanging in the air around the cotton candy booth at the fair is enough for me!

      In regards to your candy, are those the “soft” sticks that melt like a cloud of flavor in your mouth? I remember some pillow-like candy puffs that did the same thing.

      • linda says:

        Beth emailed Tue, Aug 16, 2011 at 7:39 PM:

        “I think the brand of the candy was “Leo” and there was a cellophane window in the lid of the box so you could see the sticks. I can smell them now, just writing about it.”

        I answered: “I’m happy my blanket recalls such pleasant memories! :-)”

  2. Edith says:

    Definitely soft and pretty, another lovely blankie!

    • Linda says:

      Thank you, Edith.
      The word “blankie” always makes me think of a child’s take-it-with-me-everywhere companion.
      I hope that’s the fate of every one of my ripples!!

  3. Linda says:

    Janeub commented in Ravelry on September 14, 2011:
    “Beautiful, and such harmonious colors. I am sure someone special will enjoy your choice of colors and the love of your labor.”

    I replied:
    “Thank you! I make so many ripples with Bold stripes and Bold colors, this was a nice change of pace.”

  4. Linda says:

    woollyallsorts commented in Ravelry at 6:09 AM August 25, 2011.

    She said: “Very pretty and girlie.”

    I replied: “Thank you! It was a fun way to use up assorted baby yarns. 🙂 “

Leave a Reply

