Another Re-finished Afghan

You may remember when I bought two large afghans at thrift stores and then partly unraveled them, leaving me with smaller afghans and piles of yarn for my charity yarn stash. Well, I added a border to the first afghan in only a week! But the second one has waited for a month, because, although I chose royal blue as the main color for its border, I could never quite manage to decide of what to do with it.

Here, again, is the before picture:

It was worth waiting while I made up my mind. I’m very pleased with the way my second re-finished afghan turned out. It’s now 37″ x 52″, a child-sized blanket. Presenting…

Kindergarten Colors

As you can see, I had just enough of the matching variegated yarn to make it all the way around, as long as I stuck to half-double crochet stitches, not doubles. I love that fine rainbow line!

The two-and-a-half-inch wide border took six rows: three blue rows of double crochet, then the variegated row of half-double crochet, followed by a blue row of half-double crochet and a shell stitch edging. (work four double crochets into one stitch of the row below, skip two stitches, and repeat)

This entry was posted in Afghan Edgings and Borders, Re-finished Afghans, Thrifty Treasures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another Re-finished Afghan

  1. northernnarratives says:

    Cute.

  2. I LIKE this one! I can just see a child holding on to it for dear life! So sweet.

  3. Linda says:

    BayouGramma commented in a Ravelry message at 10:10 PM on Sept. 20., 2011.

    “You are so good!”

    and I replied:

    “Thanks! This one took some thought, but not much time once I finally picked up the hook.”

Leave a Reply

