Ripple of the Week #41- Oh, Baby Baby

“Oh, Baby Baby” started, as many of my ripples do, with a variegated yarn. This particular variegated is very subtle, not the type that can carry an entire ripple design with only a dozen rows.

I rummaged through my charity yarn stash looking for pastel yarns that went well with it and I was surprised to find that, although I had one to represent each of the five colors in the variegated, there wasn’t a generous amount of any of them. I realized the variegated would need to carry the design by means of quantity alone. By using the entire twelve ounces of variegated and my pile of solid pastels, I had just enough to make my usual child-sized ripple.

12,104 stitches – 490,938 donated so far this year

I was using white for every sixth row, but I skipped one white row as soon as I realized I was going to run out of white yarn. I hoped it wouldn’t be quite as obvious that I had run short. I think it worked. I guess I ran out because I hadn’t taken into consideration that it was a little thicker than average when I estimated how many white rows I could make. sigh. A heavier yarn, of course, means fewer rows per ounce than usual.

I was completely surprised when I ran several rows short with the variegated too! It was not a heavier-than-usual strand. Maybe I made a mistake when I recorded its weight or when I figured how many rows I could make with it. Anyway, I was able to re-balance the blanket’s overall look by adding several rows of the four remaining solid colors, (remember, no more white) back at the blanket’s beginning, so it “matched” the blanket’s tail end.

Wow! The variegated yarn is so pale, I can’t even distinguish it from the solids in this close-up photo! It’s there, it’s every other row, the slightly recessed ones. And here is all the yarn that was left over:

On another day the variegated is clearly visible:

All in all, I’d say this was a successful project; I managed to make a pleasant-looking blanket while using up twelve ounces of yarn scraps and I think I did a good job of dealing with its little surprises! Happy, happy.

This entry was posted in Design Process, Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ripple of the Week #41- Oh, Baby Baby

  1. jane mullinax says:

    It looks great, as usual!

    • Linda says:

      Thank you Jane! I prefer playing with bright colors and more contrast, but I hope to turn even the palest of yarns into something nice. It seems you just can’t go wrong using the ol’ “match the colors in the variegated routine”! lol!!

  2. Tracie says:

    Thank you so much for letting me know the name of the “bug” on my blog. I have been searching everywhere trying to find out what they are. This is my first visit to your blog and I love what I am seeing! I am going to go snoop around at your older posts. Thank you again!!

    • Linda says:

      Hi Tracie! I hope you have fun poking around alottastitches. If you have any questions about what you see/read, please ask.

      Glad I could give you an answer re: the bug. I googled “hawkmoth” just to make sure I had the name right. 🙂

  3. renee says:

    Ooooh! Love the ripple! I have some variegated like that and I have no idea what to do with it. Maybe I’ll try something similar. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Linda says:

    Quiltaroo commented in Ravelry at 10:03 AM on Sept. 29, 2011

    She said: “Beautiful! What gentle, soothing colours.”

    and I replied: “Thank you! I see you’ve been busy too. Your custom-fitting Amazon Sweater is lovely! Turquoise happens to be one of my favorite colors.” 🙂

  5. Sooo sweet! I can see a sweetly sleeping baby wrapped up in it. And the colors look great!

Leave a Reply

