Ripple of the Week #44 – Rhubarb

I want to show you another ripple in my blanket stash. I crocheted it early this summer during rhubarb season. It was so much fun to make and I love the way it turned out!! Instead of planning every stripe before I began, like I usually do, I made some color choices while I was crocheting.

I had a full skein of only the sage green. The other five yarns I used were partial skeins or scrap balls. To simplify matters, I made a few color arrangements consistent through the entire blanket. 1) All the multiple color bands are either bordered by rows of dark and light burgundy, or by a row of the variegated yarn, and 2) there are two rows of Red Heart’s Light Sage in-between all the color bands. I played around putting different colors inside the bands and repeating colors (bright rose, tan and cream) to create a rhythm. Once I crocheted the afghan’s center band, I repeated everything in reverse order to finish.

This blanket reminds me of how much fun working with a bold variegated yarn can be. Looking over the recently finished ripples shown on my Ravelry project page, I can see the last bold one was in “Beach Umbrella”, over a month ago! Why has it been so long? I’m sure there’s at least one more bold variegated lurking in my charity yarn stash!

This entry was posted in Design Process, Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ripple of the Week #44 – Rhubarb

  1. Edith says:

    Oh dear…now I’m going to HAVE to send you my address, LOL! This one is simply irresistible…sigh…

    • Shall I include some rhubarb in the box? haha.

      • Edith says:

        Only if it’s in the shape of a pie ROFL! 😀

      • Sorry, the only pies I bake are Mrs. Smith’s (a frozen pie company) and “she” doesn’t do rhubarb. But, I make a mean rhubarb crisp from scratch!

        Edith replied in Ravelry at 1:15 pm, October 13, 2011:

        ” Whatever a rhubarb crisp is….sounds good, get ready, I’m coming for a visit!

        I answered:

        “It’s like rhubarb pie without the crust. It’s baked in a shallow casserole with a crumb (flour/brown sugar/butter/oatmeal) topping. Served warm with real whipped cream or ice cream, Yummm!

        I’ll save you the trip and just ship it along with the ripple. haha. It reheats well! 🙂 ”

  2. dandylines commented in Ravelry at 12:03 AM, October 13, 2011:

    ” Great use of color and variegated yarn. I have this booklet now and have faved the pattern to remind myself to make it. ”

    I replied:

    ” Thank You!
    I’ve never made a double-strand Rustic Ripple, which is how the pattern is written, but I know it’s fast and easy, however you choose to do it. Have fun rippling! “

  3. jenn1feranne commented in Ravelry at 3:59 AM, October 13, 2011:

    ” Lovely colour combination.

    Your ripples are amazing, and so are you! I love all your colour combinations, I’ve just scrolled down your projects page and then had to lever my jaw back up with my hand! If only there was a “fave all” button I’d be pressing it. B-) ”

    I replied:

    “Thank You, thank you, thankyou!! You’re too funny!! I now consider all my ripples well-faved!! 😀

    Limiting myself to the miscellaneous yarns that I’m given, or find at wonderfully low prices (thrift stores/tag sales), has turned out to be a very good thing for my ripple project! It pushes me outside my normal comfort zone for colors. Knowing the blankets are going to kids and won’t be decorating my home is liberating too!

    Thanks for the encouragement. “

  4. linda says:

    ScottyP (of the blog, Scotty’s Place) commented in Ravelry at 7:31 PM Oct. 13, 2011

    She said: ” Another pretty one from you, Linda! Beautiful. ”

    My reply: ” Hi! and Thanks! I’m liking that Big Chill afghan of yours alot too! “

  5. How funny…you’ve made a rhubarb ripple too! There is something obvious about the colours and aliteration I suppose 🙂

Leave a Reply

