Last Week’s Ripple of the Week, #48 – Fall Pride

Since I was without power last Tuesday, I missed blogging about last week’s ripple. You may remember this set of yarns I pulled from a recent Savers’ Haul. I never would have considered using such a deep blue and rust together, except for finding this vintage variegated yarn.

Along with some creme, the yarn has become a rather handsome fall ripple.

11,690 crochet stitches – 580,218 donated so far this year

I think it deserves a better name, don’t you? Do you have any ideas?

Although the variegated yarn seems to be the same thickness as my usual yarns, it gave me more rows per ounce than I had expected. I guess it’s less dense. Anyway, I have two ounces of it left, enough for at least seven rows, the impetus toward yet another ripple!

Edited on Friday, November 11, 2011 – changed name from ‘Rust and Blue’ to ‘Fall Pride’

A special thank you to reader Kathy for suggesting a much better name, Fall Pride, for this blanket. She commented, “It looks patriotic but with the use of the Autumn Colors.” This is especially fitting as today is Veteran’s Day here in the United States, when we honor those who have served in our country’s military.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Last Week’s Ripple of the Week, #48 – Fall Pride

  1. Kathy says:

    Autumn Pride
    I’ve never replied on a blog before, but I have gotten into the habit of looking at yours almost daily to see the new weekly afghan you make along with your cute story that goes with it. Keep up your good work and many blessings to you for your kindness. Beautiful storm pictures. Weird to write that but….nature has her own way of expressing and showing us beauty in all of it’s forms. Thank you for your blog!

    • Oh, Kathy, Thank You! Thank you for reading my blog and especially for leaving a comment. I’m proud to have been chosen to receive your first one!

      I’ve never thought of my afghan descriptions as cute – thanks again! Sometimes I really have to joggle my brain to come up with something more to say than “Well, Here’s another one. Mmmm.. It’s green… aaaaahh… with a little yellow!” lol. 🙂

      I’m so glad I thought to take pictures first thing Sunday morning. Things didn’t look that way for long; a couple hours later a strong breeze was moving the branches enough to send the snow down in wet sloppy plops!

      You’re very welcome!

  2. Kathy says:

    Oops…Autumn Pride is the name I am suggesting. It looks patriotic but with the use of the Autumn Colors.

    • I see what you mean. I wouldn’t have thought of it that way on my own. Very nice.

      I’m only waiting until Friday to make a name decision, so the rest of you need to give me your suggestions soon. Otherwise Kathy will “win” by default! lol.

  3. Anything is a good excuse for starting a new afghan!

  4. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    I like Autumn Pride.

  5. Kathy says:

    Perfect timing with the naming to fall on Veterans Day! My hubby retired after 20 years serving in the Navy… I always tell him how proud I am for his service and dedication to our great home we all share!
    Once again thank you for kindness & giving that comes from your heart. Many blessings to you and I’ll continue to check in daily to look at the beautiful afghans and their “cute” stories … 🙂
    Your blog is one of inspiration … Have a wonderful Thanksgiving !!
    Kathy

    • I’m sending a virtual handshake along with sincere thanks to your husband. I hope his retirement years are very happy. My father served in the Navy during WWII, as did several of my uncles.

      Thank you! I’m happy to know you’ll be visiting ‘alottastitches’ regularly.

      I’m so looking forward to Thanksgiving! Sara Lee has already prepped the pumpkin pies for me. lol (shown in photo of Freezer post)

Leave a Reply

