Ripple of the Week #51 – Strawberry Candy Cane

At first I thought a red, green and white candy cane ripple had to be “peppermint flavored”, but the more I looked at it, the more it reminded me of freshly picked strawberries. I googled “strawberry candy canes” to be sure such a thing existed. Not to brag, but I think my strawberry color combination is prettier. lol.

12,370 Stitches – 615,696 Donated So Far This Year

I think this is the first time I’ve used two variegated yarns in an afghan. Granted, they are so similar that if I hadn’t mentioned it, you might not have noticed, but I did use these two scrap balls (scroll down) of different red/green/white yarns.

This entry was posted in Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ripple of the Week #51 – Strawberry Candy Cane

  1. Makes me want to go to the candy store!

  2. gemiwing says:

    I love it! It’s so….. juicy!

    Mom and I used to pick strawberries every year. It was hot, dusty work and by the end of the day you’d wonder where half your spine walked off to! The best part by far, was sneaking strawberries while we picked- I would hold them in my mouth like a sun-warmed candy.

    That’s what this blanket reminds me of.

    • Hi! and Welcome to alottastitches.
      Thank you! I think “juicy!” is a great description for this blanket.
      We have a small patch of strawberries in our garden, large enough to give us a good taste, but not so big that I get tired of crawling around to pick them. If only someone would create a hybrid strawberry that grew on bushes! lol. (Probably wouldn’t taste nearly as good as the “real” thing.)

  3. pattie says:

    OooooH I LOVE this!!

  4. dandylines commented in Ravelry at 12:08 AM November 26, 2011:

    “Another “edible” afghan. Excellent use of colors :>”

Leave a Reply

