Ripple #52 – Spearmint Candy Cane

Ta-Da! My interpretation of the clear, refreshing taste of a spearmint-flavored candy cane:

11,690 Stitches – 627,386 Donated So Far This Year

I crocheted much of this one by candlelight during an extended power outage. I like it’s striping pattern so much, I’m tempted to repeat it with other colors.

Although you can’t see the silver that’s in some of the white rows, you can just make out the silver in the few dark green rows I crocheted with Caron Christmas Glitter. It’s fun including these slightly metallic yarns. I know the foster kids will appreciate the touch of glitz they offer.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2011, Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Ripple #52 – Spearmint Candy Cane

  1. janem123 says:

    It’s lovely, as always.

  2. Wow! That’s a lotta stitches! Just think of the lives you are touching in unknown ways and with memories that will last beyond your lifetime. Awesome.

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Looks very delicious.

  4. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    This is my favorite in the candy cane genre. The silver will seem so magical to a little one. Your work is so inspiring – keep on hookin’

    • Happy to read that you’re enjoying my candy cane series. I’m rather surprised by how energized my hook has become by such a simple idea as candy cane ripples! Flash!Flash! (that’s light reflecting off my flying hook) lol.

  5. dandylines commented in Ravelry at 6:50 PM on November 18, 2011

    Yummy – love these colors too – :>

    and I replied: It does look tasty, doesn’t it? 😀

  6. jruss95 commented in Ravelry at 6:06 PM on November 18, 2011:

    Love these colors! As fabulous as the Red Candy Canes.

    and I replied:

    Thanks! There’s some burgundy coming up next. 🙂

  7. Cromad commented in Ravelry at 1:50 am November 19, 2011:

    LOVE the Spearmint ripple, it’s yummy enough to eat! 🙂

  8. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    Hey – one other thing I noticed – this is Ripple 52 – wasn’t that your goal?!! One a week? Linda just having that goal is so inspirational to me! If I did 52 ripple ghans, I’d be singing from the rooftops, so here’s a shout out to YOU! Congratulations for setting and achieving such a loving and generous goal!

    • Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Tammy. See why I need my dear readers? This slipped right by me! I’ve been all caught up in the fun of making two candy cane ripples per week! LoL!! (What with the week of no electricity, Veterans Day, and the long Thanksgiving weekend providing lots of extra crochet hours, I figured it wouldn’t be too hard.) But now that I know, it seems like I should do something to celebrate?!? Hmmmm. I should have set a significant prize for myself back at the beginning and then I wouldn’t have forgotten!!

  9. BayouGramma commented in Ravelry at 9:18 PM November 25, 2011:

    “Love it!”

  10. woollyallsorts commented in Ravelry at 7:15 AM December 13, 2011

    ” Very striking – love all those greens together. “

  11. KarenRedBaron commented in Ravelry at 11:16 PM December 27, 2011

    This one is my absolute fav!

    And I replied:

    Karen – I’ve given up on having one favorite ripple – there are just too many too many of them now! I love how they still surprise me; ooooh, I didn’t know it was going to come out looking like that!!
    lol. 🙂

    So, just keep watching – I might be able to get you to change your mind too. haha

Leave a Reply

