Thanksgiving – Giving Thanks

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day in the United States, a time to gather with family, enjoy a special meal, and, hopefully, to thoughtfully give thanks.

I received an email on Sunday that I want to share with you. It’s from the lady who sees that my usual ripple blankets make their way to foster children. My occasional smaller lap-robes find homes during the monthly bingo nights she organizes at a nearby nursing home. I am so thankful to take part in these special programs. The rewards I receive in return are immeasurable.

The email (shared with author’s permission) ~ ~

Hi Linda,

I want to share something recently that happened and I only hope that you are ok with the decision I made…I think I know you and your heart and you will be ok, but I wanted to run it by you and let you know how your wonderful gift of talent made someone very happy.

There is a wonderful lady who comes to bingo at the nursing home each month. Over the past six months she has had surgeries on her head and this last time she came to bingo she was losing a lot of her hair.  I have not asked, but we can surmise what is going on with this special lady.

Well, there is also an older man who comes, who is just super. He is one who is very “with it” and enjoys many of the prizes, but sometimes it is more difficult to find things for him.  You donated the lap blanket and I gave it to him when he won.  He was so very happy to receive it as a prize.

After bingo was over, the lady I mentioned above, who was sitting next to the man, called me over and in a very unusual tone expressed how unhappy she was that she didn’t get a blanket too.  She was quite upset and obviously I only had the one.  I told her that I would come back over the weekend and bring her a blanket and she left very happy.

I hope it was ok, but today I brought her a light blue and white colored blanket that you made…it was so very soft.  When I showed up in her room, she was sleeping, but when she woke up and saw me with the blanket…she was soooo happy! I think she almost didn’t believe that I would come back.  She showed me how her roommate had a blanket on her bed and said how much she had wanted one.

She said she had family visit from Virginia yesterday and she told them all about bingo and showed them all the prizes she has won.  Linda…this lady is enjoying your blanket and  happy that she has one like her roommate.  The blue color also matched the bedspread she had!

I hope you are ok with this.  This is the first blanket I donated this way as I always give your blankets to children in foster care.  I just felt a tug in my heart and it is because of you and your talent that we were able to make her happy and comfortable, when she is obviously very sick.

Thank you Linda!!

Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving and I count you as one of my blessings my friend! Take care!

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Of course, I wrote back to say that following her heart’s tug was exactly the right thing to do. I can only hope that every blanket I make brings as many smiles to its recipient as the blankets in this story did! 😀

Thank you, my dear readers, for sharing your stories with me, in blog comments, emails and in Ravelry. I get very excited when you tell me that you’re crocheting your first ripple blanket, beginning a charity project of your own, or that you’ve made a commitment to do more charity craftwork in general, because you read about my ripple project here! I’m thrilled when you tell me you’re going to follow my example and look for yarn in your local thrift stores! To know that an idea I shared is rippling outward (aren’t I punny? lol.) through you makes me very happy.

Thank you for all the encouragement you give me, not only to keep crocheting for charity, but to keep blogging about it.

I hope you’ll take a long moment to give thanks for all that’s good in your life, whether it’s “Thanksgiving Day” tomorrow where you are, or not. Say thank you to a few extra people. It’s a simple thing, costs nothing, and it spreads happiness!

Happy thanks giving!!

Linda

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thanksgiving – Giving Thanks

  1. janem123 says:

    Thank you for sharing the story. As you may remember, via my church knit/crochet group, I donate most of my blankets and shawls to a local hospice program or to homebound or ill church members. The last time we delivered a load of blankets and shawls to the hospice house, we were told about a woman in residence there who was very restless one night. A volunteer gave her a handmade shawl and, after it was wrapped around her shoulders, the woman said the shawl felt like heaven. All of us got a bit teary about that and I was inspired to work even harder on those blankets and shawls.

    I hope you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    • You’re very welcome, and thank you so much for sharing your story. Every story reminds us of why charity projects are worth every bit of the time and effort we put into them. Hopefully a favorite one will pop into our minds on those days when we need a little extra encouragement to do one more row. 🙂

  2. Edith says:

    What a lovely story…it’s heartwarming to know that your work is loved and appreciated, and is keeping two dear people warm. I guess that is what charity work is all about, spreading love through our work (it helps that we enjoy our work so much too!)

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    What a wonderful story. Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  4. Kathy says:

    Wishing nothing but blessings to you! You know you have a cozy comfy chair with an endless supply of yarns & hooks at your side with a beautiful view of a valley of blooming Crab Apple Tree Blossoms once you are living up behind those pearly gates!!! I know you must feel so good inside your heart & soul … Don’t ever stop Linda, God needs angels down here too!!!…. Kathy

    PS…as a young child I grew up in a town that had an Indian meaning of “land of crab apples “..we had many growing in the fields behind our home. It was outside Buffalo .. It’s called “Cheektowaga”.
    PPS…Smuckers used to make Crab Apple Jelly …. Can’t find it anymore ;(

    • You’re very sweet, Kathy. Thank you for such kind wishes.

      I can only imagine the springtime view from your childhood home; it must have been breathtaking at peak bloom!

      I’ve never considered making jelly from our crab apples. Because it’s an ornamental tree, they are very small, about 1/2 inch, but I suppose they’d still do the job. DH says they’re very high in pectin, so they’d be good to thicken other jams/jellies. Hmmmmm. A peach-crab apple combo is a mouth-watering idea!

  5. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, your family and your readers!

  6. Lora Jenkins says:

    Linda, This story brought tears to my eyes. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

