Ripple of the Week – #57 Peppermint Candy Cane

It’s pretty ironic that it’s taken me this long (the eighth in my series) to get around to making a peppermint ripple, considering that it’s the most favored flavor of candy cane, and to think that I made it from scrap balls, too! gasp.

11.962 stitches – 686,244 donated so far this year

Between my scrap ball stash and those that had just arrived in the Big Bag o’ Yarn, I thought I would have more than enough red, green and white yarns to make a ripple. I figured out that I only needed five ounces of greens and about ten ounces each of reds and whites. Actual weighing showed that I was an ounce short on medium greens.

That was a good excuse to include a few rows, just five, of Caron Christmas Glitter, a dark green yarn with a fine silver thread. I like a little bling!

I must tell you, as I crocheted Peppermint, I was struck, bam!, with an idea for another granny project! It will use all my red and green mini scrap balls, those that are too small to crochet even one row in a ripple.

This will be the third granny that I have in the works. Ooops! But, sometimes, you know, you’ve just gotta go-with-the-creative-flow! It’s going to be so cute! You’ll see…

soon.

Must finish Candy Cane ripples first.

This entry was posted in Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors, Scrappy Ripples, Yarn Stash and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ripple of the Week – #57 Peppermint Candy Cane

  1. Edith says:

    Oh no…another granny, you’ll be joining me in endless weaving away of ends, lol. I have ‘finished’ my granny blankie, border and all, but I still have 163 ends to weave away…sigh.

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, so many candy canes, just in time for Christmas 🙂

  3. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    Love the traditional R,W&G. I just learned to Granny and although it’s fun, it definitely is a challenge to “finish”!

    • Thanks! Nothing says “Christmas!” like R,W & G!
      I’m hoping the amount of fun I have making each granny will balance the amount of dread I hold for dealing with its ends. Yuck.
      Here’s a Bethintxl YouTube video that shows how to weave in some of the ends of a granny square while you go. It’s a rather clever technique, I think, and, as far as I can tell, is just as permanent as doing it with a yarn needle.

Leave a Reply

