Ripple #58 – Christmas Candy

Another traditionally colored blanket, Christmas Candy made the most of both the small amount of Caron Christmas Glitter green remaining after #57, Peppermint, and a little ball of a green and red variegated. They each have a fine silver thread, which provides a little sparkle. For greater contrast, I put in a few stripes of RHSS Hunter Green, which is so dark it appears black in the photo. That’s one of the yarns from my most recent haul.

10,874 Stitches – 697,118 Donated So Far This Year

I’ve reached the end of the specialty yarns I had most wanted to include in this year’s candy cane ripples. Yes, I said “this year’s”. I wouldn’t mind making a set of candy canes again next year, especially if another big pile of fun and appropriately colored yarns finds its way to me!

I could end the 2011 Candy Cane ripple series here and be very satisfied, but I have a few days remaining before the delivery deadline and so many more ideas! I’m going to try to finish a couple more and have already started on Sour Cherry.

This entry was posted in Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ripple #58 – Christmas Candy

  1. Edith says:

    Wow, your hook must be smoking by now! Fantastic that you’ve been able to make so many different candy cane ripples…well done 🙂 Looking forward to what you come up with next…talk about suspense, lol!

    • Oh, Yah! the hook is smokin’ and the shoulder was hurtin’! I sat in a slightly different way the other night, so Emily had room to lay next to me in the big wingback chair. It seemed like a good compromise at the time, far better than her being in my lap while I crocheted, but my body reacted so rudely; the next morning my shoulder felt like I’d just completed the first softball practice of the season. Oooow. I was able to continue crocheting painlessly by switching the way I held the hook and sitting rather expansively on the bed. Sorry Emily, but there’ll be no more cramped, not even slightly cramped crocheting for me, lesson learned!

      Things feel suspenseful here too, Edith! With so many ideas crowding my head, it’s hard to nail down any definite plans for future projects.

  2. You manage to crochet things I could never imagine. This is pretty.

  3. Kathy says:

    After seeing all your beautiful candy cane ripple blankets….I wish you & yours a Merry Christmas! You are an angel to many children who need one….don’t ever stop! You’re a blessing to them and a lesson to learn from for the rest of us…Merry Christmas…Kathy

    • The candy cane theme made it easy to design/plan many blankets at once while using up several “interesting” yarns, a win-win! I shall keep my mind open for other themes I can use similarly.

      Thank you for your kind words, Kathy, and a Very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

