Ripple of the Week #61 – Cranberry Candy Cane

Even though I had no hope of finishing this Christmasy ripple in time for the holiday blanket pickup of last week, I had to crochet it! I was anxious to see if this color combination would turn out as great as I had imagined.

11,418 stitches – 731,780 donated so far this year

I’m really impressed with the way the three reds, RHSS Burgundy, RHSS Cherry Red and a very vibrant vintage red, balance each other.

I just realized the three remaining candy cane ripples I have planned will take me clear into the new year, which suddenly means Valentine’s Day feels just around the corner. Now that’s a holiday that will be perfect for more triple-red ripples!

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2011, Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ripple of the Week #61 – Cranberry Candy Cane

  1. Edith says:

    It’s perfect! Glad you crocheted it despite missing the deadline 🙂 Are you going to continue a ripple a week in 2012?

    • Thank You!

      Oh, yes – there are many more ripples yet to come! I would like to experiment with at least a few of the many other ripple patterns I’ve collected. I’m especially intrigued by those that combine granny squares and ripples!

  2. The colors of your blanket are wonderful! I am always impressed by the color combinations you choose! This one is really so much cranberry 🙂 Beautiful work!

  3. jruss95 left a comment in Ravelry at 5:17 PM, December 21, 2011:

    ” Love those reds together. Great combo! “

  4. dandylines commented in Ravelry at 11:40 PM December 21, 2011

    Excellent choices of colors as always Linda.

    And I replied:

    Thank You! More versions to come.

  5. WhiteMoonShadow commented in Ravelry at 12:08 AM December 22, 2011

    Your afghan are always so beautiful! You have inspired me and I have now made 4 for charity myself! I can’t wait to see your next one!

    And I replied:

    Thank you so very much for the compliment. I’m so happy that my ripple project has encouraged you to start crocheting for a charity!
    I’m just back from looking at your four. Isn’t that Rustic Ripple pattern fun and easy? Your afghans are all lovely, but of course, I just LOVE that Bright! Pink one, #4, the best! 😀
    I plan to show my next ripple afghan, Winter Mint Candy Cane, on my blog next Tuesday. Sometimes it takes me a day or two more to get their project page up on Ravelry.
    Happy Winter Solstice/First Day of Winter!

Leave a Reply

