Ripple of the Week #62 – Winter Mint Candy Cane

I included both a plain white yarn and a white yarn with a fine silver thread, called Caron Christmas Glitter, in this ripple. I captured the frosty touch of silver here:

Unfortunately, I’ve never been able to get the pretty sparkle to show across a full blanket photo, but don’t let that distract you from the beauty of this blanket. (said as she gazes fondly)

11,962 stitches – 743,742 donated so far this year

LOVE IT! Could be one of my all-time favorites.

It reminds me of a crisp, clear, cold winter’s day, so Cold that snow squeaks as you quickly run/walk wherever you must go with your nose tucked deep within the warmth of a scarf, or cowl.

Thankfully, we haven’t had that kind of winter weather so far.

But we must remember, according to the calendar, we’ve only reached day six of this winter!

Readers’ Ripples

I have always hoped that some of the ideas I share in alottastitches would ripple out through you, my dear readers.

“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.” – Mother Teresa

You may try a new technique you discovered here and then, some day, teach it to a friend, you may decide to give one of your projects to a charity for the first time or you may make a long-term commitment to a particular charity. I love hearing about how alottastitches has influenced you and, with permission, “Readers’ Ripples” is where I can share your stories with others.

Lora, known as WhiteMoonShadow in Ravelry, recently left me a comment and pm over there:  “Your afghans are always so beautiful! You have inspired me! I can’t wait to see your next one!…   Thank You and keep making your gorgeous afghans! I find myself checking your blog often!”

Wow! Thank You, Lora!! –  that’s the kind of note every craftswoman loves to receive!! But the words that matter most to me are, “You have inspired me!” It’s wonderful to know that what I do here goes beyond patting myself on the back and saying, ” Look! Look everybody! See what I made!” Now, of course, that’s fun too, lol!, but… eh, you know what I’m getting at.

Lora went on to said, “I had been crocheting & knitting for on-line charities for a few years, mostly preemie items for NICUs but, had been looking for a local charity and something I could make larger projects for when I came across your blog. I did a quick search and found our local chapter for Project Linus. When I saw your afghans, and how quickly they seemed to work up, it just solidified the connection for me! Thank you for your inspiration!”

Her goal is to make one blanket each month for her local Project Linus chapter and she has already finished FOUR!! Well done, Lora. You can see her blankets on her blog, Life as a Krazi Stay-at-Home-Mom and on her Rav project page. I’m especially fond of her latest, Afghan #4. It’s such a HaPpY ripple!

This entry was posted in Readers' Ripples, Ripple Afghans of 2011, Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ripple of the Week #62 – Winter Mint Candy Cane

  1. Edith says:

    Been waiting all day to see the latest ripple…it’s well worth the wait! BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  2. Kathy says:

    Pretty..!! I Was thinking last week you should do a blue & white ripple and called it “Icy Hot”…lol ….But Winter Candy Cane is staying within the theme. It’s very refreshing “icy cool” looking and I’m sure it’ll keep one “hot” during the cold winter days ahead!! I just love blues and whites together they make such a pretty combination for afghans. Is this the finale of the candy canes? Do you ever hear back that your blankets were a welcoming gift in the child’s life who was so blessed to have received it?…..Happy New Year!…Kathy

    • Thank you!

      I couldn’t have called it “Icy Hot”, cuz that makes me think of the old pain-relief cream. blech. Sorry, Icy Hot, but you’re some potent-smelling stuff! lol. Hey, they’ve gone all ‘rainbow’ on their label – used to be blue & white, but maybe you already knew that?

      Two more candy canes to come. Bubble Gum flavor next week!

      I rarely hear back about individual blankets. They pass through so many hands on their way to the children, I’m not surprised. It’s o.k. – I can still see the kids’ smiles in my mind. 🙂

  3. Kathy says:

    Yea..that’s what I was thinking when I saw the blue & whit mint candy…was the usual icy freshly minty flavor…then icy hot pop into mind. I Haven’t seen it in years…… Maybe it was the rainbow disguise …lol!! I know when you make something for someone who is unexpecting of the gift…your heart knows of that first smile when they realized someone made something just for them! I was just curious if the lady that picks them up was the one who may also help in giving out and if she was to have told you any story. I guess the best story is the child you are imagining wrapping themselves in the blanket as you are making it. I find when I am in a repeat pattern I zone out the world and my mind wanders. Take care…..Kathy

    • You said – “I find when I am in a repeat pattern I zone out the world and my mind wanders.”

      I love when that happens! We call it being “in the flow”. Our minds can come up with amazing ideas while there! 🙂

  4. Laughingwolf commented in Ravelry at 11:10 AM December 28, 2011

    What a beautiful blanket. It sparkles like frost!

    – And I replied:

    Thank You! You’re right – it does sparkle like frost!! 🙂

    – Then, at 10:09 AM January 2, 2012, Laughingwolf said:

    Gives me an idea for a Christmas gift. At least I’ll have lots of time to complete it :-).

    – And I answered:

    My “Christmas in Grannies” is like that. It’s quite different to leisurely work on a project with a possible year-looong time span in mind!

  5. jruss95 commented in Ravelry at 5:23 PM December 27, 2011:

    love the pattern repeat AND the colors.

    and I replied:

    Me Too! 😀

    I use alot of variegated yarns in my ripples. Some variegateds I don’t like very much, but I think this one is very pretty.

  6. WhiteMoonShadow commented in Ravelry at 8:19 PM December 27, 2011

    Another gorgeous Afghan! You truly captured Winter in this one. It has to be one of my favorites! Can’t wait to see what you make next.

    And I replied:

    THANK YOU!
    – what a lovely comment!

  7. dandylines commented in Ravelry at 5:28 PM December 27, 2011

    Also one of my favorites, though I love them all.

    And I replied:

    Thank you. It’s very nice of you to say you love them all – to be honest, I like some much more than others.

Leave a Reply

