Ripple of the Week #3 – Mixed Berries Candy Cane

I can only imagine a candy cane with this combination of colors as being exceptionally tasty. A mixture of raspberry, grape, and blueberry flavors sounds so tempting to me! Yummm…

11,554 stitches – 779,628 donated since Jan. 2011

This ripple began with two balls of beautiful marled (made from single strands of different colors twisted together) yarn I was given for my charity project.

Although this yarn’s about the same thickness as my usual Red Heart Super Saver, I didn’t notice how much fluffier it is. I was able to crochet more than my usual three rows from each ounce and had all this left. It would be a shame to waste it. I’ll probably find a way to use the rest as pretty accents in some future project(s).

P.S. In case you wonder where I was yesterday, I was sorting yarn, lots of yarn! Ran out of Ziplocs. (or the Aldis equivalent) Also, we moved the piano from my craft room into the bedroom and I spoke to another woman at the nursing home. She was at least as excited as the last one was about my idea of making weekly visits. She said she was in the office just to get more tissues and had to get right back to the nail polish party she was hosting, but that she would mention my idea to the ladies she was with and call me.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012, Ripple Series - Candy Cane Flavors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ripple of the Week #3 – Mixed Berries Candy Cane

  1. Beth says:

    This one makes me think of berry cobbler! YUM! With cream drizzled over it and a glass of very cold milk to go along with it. Uummmm, makes you think that perhaps I’m hungry?

    • Your comment says, “Submitted at 12:56 pm” – yup, I believe I hear your tummy saying it’s nigh onto lunchtime.
      Mmmmm, berry cobbler, still warm from the oven. I’m sure I have room for some dessert!… Shall we? 🙂

  2. jruss95 commented in Ravelry at 4:52 PM January 10, 2012

    Can’t wait to see the whole group together! Fabulous job!!

    I replied:

    Thank You!!
    You can go check ‘em out now. The post with all fifteen candy canes is up. 😀

  3. dandylines commented in Ravelry at 12:08 PM January 10, 2012

    Great colors on this one Linda. One of the “tastiest” that you have done though I love them all.
    Congratulations on doing 15 and all for charity.

    I replied:

    Thank you! – I appreciate and use whatever acrylic yarns I’m given for my charity blankets, but it’s especially nice when they’re something out of the ordinary!

Leave a Reply

