A Bevy of Blankets

I gathered an incredible number of great blankets from just two recent trips to Savers!

This pretty 27″ x 40″ baby blanket was in such great condition, I was able to immediately deliver it to the collection box over at the library. What a find for only $1.60!

It has a familiar-looking crochet stitch pattern, but I don’t know its name. Do you?

Here’s a larger knitted one, 48″ x 52″, that’s also already on its way to a foster child.

As beautiful as it is, I only paid $4.00! I think the texture of its back is at least as pretty as that of its front.

This single-crochet ripple, 32″ x 44″, needs to hang around for a while…

…to see whether I can get these two spots to come out. It will either be donated or turned into yarn, depending on my results.

I won’t feel bad, no matter which way it goes. Paying $2.40 for either a blanket or for one and a half pounds of yarn is great!

This rainbow blanket is so much longer than the blankets I crochet for charity, 72″ compared to my usual 54″, that at first I thought I’d unravel a little of its fun variegated yarn and then put a solid-colored border on the rest.

But, that was before I noticed the knots it had all over its back, with short yarn ends sticking up, too short to be woven in. I will unravel it for the yarn, lots of rainbow yarn, about two and a half pounds of it!

I probably paid more for it than I should have, $6.40, but variegated yarns always cost more, right?

This bright pink blanket has the same problem as the rainbow one – lots and lots of knots with short yarn ends. After unraveling, I’ll have about two pounds of yarn for just $2.00. I think it’s Red Heart Super Saver Pretty ‘n Pink.

It’s good that I can always use more pink yarn, because I plan to unravel this five-tone lacy blanket as well. It weighs over two pounds and was $4.00.

And, finally, I got this peach shawl, 23″ x 72″, for $2.40. I’ll unravel its one and a half pounds too.

If you’ve been keeping track, you already know that I got two blankets to donate plus enough yarn for six more ripples for about $23.00. Hopefully there’s alot of good t.v. and movie viewing in our near future, so we can get all the unraveling out-of-the-way quickly.

Oh, but I’m not quite done showing you my newest thrifty finds. I also got this pattern book from 1981, “The Great Afghan Book”, by the American School of Needlework, primarily because I love the filet crochet blanket, Spring Flower, on its front cover. There are four finished Spring Flower blankets here, in Ravelry.

Maybe, some day, mine will join them! I enjoy imagining how this might look as a multi-colored blanket. Perhaps that flower is meant to be a black-eyed susan?

There are twenty-two other afghan patterns in the book, some knitted and some crocheted. You can see examples of six of them here, in Ravelry.

This entry was posted in Thrifty Treasures, Unraveling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Bevy of Blankets

  1. Beth says:

    You had a field day at Savers! This will really start the creative juices to flow! Have fun dreaming up new things.

  2. Margo says:

    What an incredible find. Congratulations on this feast.
    We do not have a Savers in the area (Michigan), but we do have a lot of Salvation Army stores.
    I will have to take a peak and see what I can find.
    Good job on all of these and the new ripples.

Leave a Reply

