A Little Ripple of the Week #4 – Tangerine Punch

For the next few weeks, I’ll be pulling each Ripple of the Week from a bag of little ripples that I made a few years ago. I discovered this stash of blankets back in September, when I went hunting for the very first ripple I made, A Wavy Ripple.

Why did I make little ripples, you ask? Well, the Rustic Ripple pattern, as written, creates a bigger and heavier afghan than I wanted to make for charity project. Since the pattern is intended to be worked with two strands of worsted weight yarn, an easy solution was to just crochet it with a single strand. That made my first ripples about thirty-two inches wide and, with around seventy-two rows, about four feet long.

I donated several of these little ripples before I noticed that most of the blankets that Project Linus receives are a little bigger, 40″ x 60″, or what is known as “crib size.” So I adjusted the pattern by adding one more double-crochet stitch to each uphill or downhill run (6 peaks x 2 stitches = 12 more stitches total). This made my ripples grow to their present thirty-five inch width and, with the addition of several more rows, fifty-four inch length.

Happily, it turns out those old smaller ripples are a great size for lap robes, welcome as Bingo prizes at a nearby nursing home. It’s time to say good-bye to my little ripple stash, but not before we take a final look at each one!

As is often the case, I designed this one around a variegated yarn. I think it’s Red Heart Super Saver “Bikini”.

Tangerine Punch

9,055 Stitches – 788,683 Donated Since Jan. 2011

I don’t remember, but it’s my guess that I ran a little short. Why else would I have put six variegated stripes on one end and only five on the other!?! I hope it’s not too noticeable. Had you noticed before I mentioned it?

Although small, and ever so slightly imbalanced, this blanket still provides a heap of cheerful color, something most of us in New England can appreciate in mid-January! Remember when grass was green like in this photo, instead of tan? I shot it in the fall, right after I discovered my little ripple stash.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Ripple of the Week #4 – Tangerine Punch

  1. WhiteMoonShadow commented in Ravelry at 12:28 PM on January 17, 2012

    Oh, I LOVE this one! So bright and cheerful!

Leave a Reply

