A Pie Safe Turned Yarn Safe

I was so excited to welcome our old pie safe back into the house! It has spent several years exiled in the garage, ever since we eliminated the wall that it had stood against. However, my excitement was quickly extinguished when I discovered that something had left gnaw marks all across the bottom shelf! arrrgh. Thankfully, that’s all they left and apparently they weren’t able to reach any of the cupboard’s upper shelves.

I was planning to turn our old pie safe into a yarn safe, hoping that keeping all my sock yarn within view would encourage me to actually knit with it, not just collect it!

After thoroughly cleaning the pie safe, I coated every gouge with acrylic craft paint. I’m glad to say my camouflage was pretty successful.

I clearly have space to store more sock yarn…

so how could I resist buying just one more skein, especially when it was only ninety-nine cents at Savers?! My latest acquisition –

I would love to see what my new yarn looks like once it’s knitted-up. Can any of you identify it for me?

BTW – You might find it interesting to know that, when we bought it from an unfinished furniture place, this little cupboard had thin wooden panels in its doors. DH cut them out and we replaced them with pieces of hardware cloth that we had spray-painted black. I know, I know, screening would have been more historically accurate. I can only think we used the hardware cloth instead, because we happened to have some on hand.

This entry was posted in My Craft Room, Yarn Stash and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Pie Safe Turned Yarn Safe

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    What a great place to keep your yarn. Does that mean you like knitting more than pies???

  2. gemiwing says:

    Sooooookk Yarrrrnnnn *drool*
    There are so many great non-sock patterns for sock yarns! I use SY to make hats that are great as bike helmet liners because they’re so thin. I also made a wrist warmer that fits under any piece of clothing without adding bulk.

    LOVE sock yarn!

    Also- very impressive job with the paint! If you didn’t point out where they were I would never know a little critter got nibbly.

    • Luckily, all my sock yarn is in Ziplocs, so it’s not bothered at all by the drooling!! Haha.
      So far I’ve knitted lots of socks, two camera socks, a beanie for DH, mittens, and fingerless mitts, all from self-striping yarns.
      (reminder to self – photograph all socks and beanie for Ravelry)
      I need some solid-colored mitts and I’d like to do some scarves and shawls too!

      Thanks! – although my lovely paint job will soon be covered by more yarn!

  3. Beth says:

    “The older, the better.” That’s my mantra when it comes to houses and furnishings. Love it. Reminds me of my mother’s pie safe. Thanks for bringing back some memories.

    • I don’t know what our home furnishings “style” is called, but we’re comfortable with an electic mix of old, refinished and new.
      It fits our house well, built in the 20’s, indoor bathroom in ??, two-room addition in the 70’s and the changes we’ve made from the 90’s onward.

      Glad to have brought back some nice memories for you. 🙂
      Did your mom actually put pies in her pie safe?

  4. Lora says:

    What a great use for your pie safe! And what a nice sock yarn stash.

  5. Shell says:

    Love the pie safe turned yarn safe!!

Leave a Reply

