A Couple Steps Closer to Hooking

Closer to Rug hooking, folks, just talkin’ about rug hooking. haha

I’ve wanted to learn how to hook rugs, the kind made with wool fabric strips, not yarn, for years and years! I happened to get talking with two women in Sal’s who are starting a hooking group. They invited me to join and they’re willing to teach me how to hook!

So, DH dug this odd-looking thing out a deep dark corner of the garage.

It’s my “PURITAN Portable Rug Frame, distributed by Mayflower Textile Co., Inc., Franklin, Mass.” Another of its labels reads “WARNING, Turn Handle Clockwise Only”. I don’t know what the handle is for, yet, but you can be sure I’ll only turn it Clockwise!

I googled, hoping to find some instructions on how to use the frame and discovered, Wow!, just how much a Puritan Frame goes for when new!! CHOKE! I know we paid whatever the woman asked for it at her tag sale many years ago, which I don’t think was more than thirty-five or forty dollars, and that included a strip cutter! I remember the cutter, which is still hiding somewhere in our attic, looking something like this one (more sticker shock!). We haven’t come across the bag of pre-cut wool strips she gave us, either. Oh! It didn’t occur to me to look for wool clothing when at Sal’s. Although…  I really should see what wool fabric I already have before getting any more.

I figure I can hold off on buying any special backing fabric. For now I’ll use this pink burlap I found at the thrift in town – $1.50. It’ll be fine for my initial project.

As usual, I couldn’t resist a few other treasures. The huge cone of soft fine yellow yarn, soft in both color and texture, is probably cotton/acrylic. It made me think about Weaving again. It would also be great for a large crochet project, like a shawl. Since there’s over three pounds of it, I suppose I can both weave and crochet with it!

The three knitting magazines, recent issues, Oct. – Dec. 2011, (retail value $31.97) were just 75¢. With that price, I can’t feel bad that a couple of patterns had been removed! (turned out they weren’t ones I cared about anyway)

I got this burgundy wool sweater for DH, also 75¢! It has a subtle pattern of dashes that I knew he’d like.

DH and I headed to our favorite library after dinner the other night. I was very pleased to find these three books about rug hooking.

I must show you the crafty treasures I found in the new book section too, even though they’re not at all hooking-related!

I’ll let you know if I find anything especially intriguing in them. I’ve already dipped into a couple, shown by the little yellow bookmarks. Mmmm, mmm, mm. Ideas, ideas, ideas!!

This entry was posted in Rug Hooking, Thrifty Treasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Couple Steps Closer to Hooking

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, I know nothing about making rugs so it will be interesting to read what you learn.

    I own the sock knitting book in your photo and I love it 🙂

    • It’ll be fun to share what I learn about rug hooking. I must remember to take pictures! Sometimes I get carried away and forget.

      It looks like a very thorough book! They’re not exaggerating by calling it a Master Class. Have you used any of the patterns in it, or mastered any new techniques?

      I love another of Ann Budd’s books, Getting Started Knitting Socks. It’s a great reference book.

  2. gemiwing says:

    Is rug hooking like latch hook? The rug frame reminds me of the old seats from grade school. lol Can’t wait to see what you do with rugs!

    • That’s a great question! They’re alike in that they both can be used to make rugs. But different, as far as I know, (never having done either) in that latch hooking uses short pre-cut pieces of yarn and a hook that has a latch (loose flippy tongue-like part), like this (scroll down a ways) to make ‘fringes’, while the kind of hooking I want to learn uses long narrow strips of wool fabric and a fine plain hook to make loops, like this.

      I can’t wait to see what I do with it either!! lol.

Leave a Reply

