A Wall of Yarn

I face this awesome sight with mixed emotions.

On the one hand, I’m excited to have a place, my new craft room, to put two tall bookcases just for yarn. On the other, I’m rather alarmed to know that I have collected this much natural fiber yarn in the few years that I’ve knit! Has it only been five six years?

Most of it is wool or of blends that contain a high percentage of wool, but there’s also beautiful cashmere and alpaca. This shelf is mostly cotton/wool, linen or silk.

Well… at least I know I didn’t pay top dollar for any of it! I estimate that about seventy-five percent came from sweaters I got at tag sales or thrift stores, where I pay, on average, two dollars per sweater. Many of the banded balls and skeins came from those same sources, purchased at a small fraction of their retail value. Almost all the rest came from the going-out-of-business sale of a local yarn shop. I went twice, first for the fifty percent discount and then later for the seventy-five percent. I remember digging in the bin of one dollar yarns! Oh, my, that was fun!! A small amount came from big box craft stores, where I either found clearance bargains or shopped with forty and fifty percent off coupons. The littlest pile would be yarns that came from special events like Rhinebeck Sheep and Wool, Stitches East and Webs, where you can always find terrific bargains.

I am further alarmed, because I know I have even more yarn. There’s my sock yarn, which is newly crammed into this pie safe.

There are still a few remaining Rubbermaid bins of yarn too. I can empty at least one into the pie safe, probably the charity wool, but that will still leave the bins of cotton, some of which you’ve already seen, charity acrylic/wool, multicolored yarns, novelties and sweaters, some of which I’ll unravel, but most of which I hope to re-purpose.

This post’s message is (pick one): A – I need a bigger house. B – I must stay far away from any remotely possible source of yarn or C – I need to knit, crochet, sew and weave… like the wind!

P.S. For those of you who don’t read the comments, I want to share option D,  left in a comment, ” I am perfectly normal in a yarny sort of way.” ROFL. Its beginning to feel more and more comfortable with practice! “I am perfectly normal in a yarny sort of way.” “I am perfectly normal…

Perhaps “Hi, my name is Linda, I have too much yarn”, can change to “Hi, my name is Linda, I have a wonderful assortment of beautiful yarn!!”

This entry was posted in My Craft Room, Yarn Stash and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Wall of Yarn

  1. janem123 says:

    You forgot to include this option for the post’s message: D-I am perfectly normal in a yarny sort of way.

  2. Edith says:

    Um, Linda…I’m worried about you. I have a serious amount of yarn distributed about my house, but your collection (and I know there is probably more in your attic), outstrips mine by far. You probably never have to buy another skein in your life! Either that or you’d better get busy, lol.

    • That sounds like votes for options B – I must stay far away from any remotely possible source of yarn, and C – I need to knit, crochet, sew and weave… like the wind!

      As for me, I’m sticking with D – I am perfectly normal in a yarny sort of way. 🙂

      Linda

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, it looks like a yarn store 🙂 Or maybe you are growing a yarn garden?

  4. Lisa says:

    D…definitely D.

  5. craftycarole says:

    Thank you for making me feel less of a freak! I love your stash and even more the cool bookshelves that it calls home. I’m in the process of remodeling a basement room for my craft room so my stash is in the garage attic all packed… I miss looking at it!

    • You’re welcome! 🙂

      The bookshelves are Sauder-like fake cherry, not the real thing. But that’s fine because 1) the price was right, 2) we got six of them and 3) they match the fake ones we already had in our hall! (those three have doors down below) How cool it that!!

      How long have you been without your stash? I see on your blog that you haven’t knitted at all this year… but it will be worth it when your new “playroom” is finished!

  6. LOL!! That is a lot of yarn. Can I split my vote between “C” and “B”? 🙂

    I can relate to your post. I have a much smaller stash than the one pictured, but then again I also live in a much smaller place than you do. Space is precious. My yarn was begining to steal prime real estate in my closets. I had to take action; so since the holiday’s I’ve been using up my yarn on projects for myself and others. I’ve come to the realization that the yarn in my stash has no value, if it isn’t made into something.

    My relationship to my yarn stash reminded me of the old joke: a man says to his psychiatrist “I really need help doctor. My problem is….I love pancakes.” The psychiatrist says “Well that’s not a problem. I love pancakes too!” “Really?” says the man. “That’s great! Because I have trunks and trunks full of them!” 🙂

    • Sure you can split your vote! lol.

      Gathering my personal stash together to organize it has definitely been a wake-up call. I’m clearly moving from the acquisition stage to the creation stage now. It’s going to be fun to see how long I can go without buying any yarn or a sweater for yarn. The pile of bins that are stacked high in our bedroom is a constant reminder not to!

      I luxuriate in the amount of yarn I have, both in my acrylic charity stash and in my personal natural fiber one. Although I plan to work them both down to a more manageable amount, I think I’ll always love the feeling of abundance they provide. I really enjoy having more than enough to choose from for any project that may come to my mind.

      Each of us go through complicated and personal thought processes as we decide how to spend our time, our money… and our space. 🙂

  7. gemiwing says:

    I propose option E- take all this yarn, put it in a big pool and swim in it like Scrooge McDuck. Organization gone? Sure, but I mean a BIG POOL OF YARN! 😀

    Honestly I’ve seen worse stashes. so you’re not that far gone. lol Mine is growing too- I need to get back to really busting stuff out. I think we all tend to take a little break during the holidays and then it’s a wake up in January for many things! Hmm, it’s February now, but the point still stands! lol

    You’ll use it though- and you’ll use it just right and just fast enough 🙂

    • I love the mental picture – I remember seeing a photo of someone flashing their stash by posing, covered with skeins of their yarn, in a bathtub! We’re just working on a little larger scale here.

      Aaaaah, but at least it’s not an Olympic-sized pool! LOL. 😀

      Thanks for the encouragement.

  8. Lora says:

    Linda, didn’t you know that yarn multiplies if left alone? That is my take on my yarn stash. Lol

Leave a Reply

