A Scrappy Ripple of the Week #10 – Princess

Finding balls of both pink and purple novelty yarns in my charity stash inspired me to make this scrappy ripple. I used about eighteen different yarns, mostly from scrap balls, lining up a few colors at a time in the order I wanted to crochet them.

I had no idea how far my pink and purple Fun Fur would go, but I was quite surprised when it only lasted seven rows! Although it’s a very airy looking yarn, it is heavy with little yardage per ounce. So I learned an important lesson – I definitely cannot crochet three ripple rows from an ounce of fun fur, which is the estimate I use for ‘normal’ acrylic yarns.

11,690 ripple stitches – 853,101 donated since Jan. 2011

Oh, well… this sort of thing can happen when you make a randomly striped scrappy afghan. But, even with plenty of fur on the left half and little on the right, ‘Princess’ is still a fun girly blanket!

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012, Scrappy Ripples and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Scrappy Ripple of the Week #10 – Princess

  1. Beth says:

    I love it! I love those colors together. That is definitely a girly girl’s afghan.

  2. Margo says:

    You are still going strong with lovely looking ripple blankets.

  3. Renee says:

    Another fine Job!

Leave a Reply

