2012 Ripple of the Week #12 – Clouds at Dawn

I began crocheting Clouds at Dawn with a size I hook (5.5 mm) and two strands of dk and baby yarns. It wasn’t long before I recognized that two strands of the purple dk, Bernat’s Softee Baby, (part of this donation) create a far denser, stiffer fabric than two strands of the baby yarns.

Then, remembering that working into the back loop makes a fabric with more drape, I tried working into the back loop on the second row of each purple stripe and on the first row following a purple stripe. I’m pleased to report that this technique worked very well! This is a soft, fluffy ripple.

11,962 stitches  – 876,481 stitches donated since Jan. 2011

In the close-up you can really see the ridges that result from working some rows in the back loop. I rather like the interesting texture they create! It would be fun to experiment some more with crocheting in the back loop.

I was surprised to find that even though I was using a larger hook than I usually do, size I instead of H, this blanket was a couple of inches narrower! I think this has something to do with working in the back loop too. Hmmm – if I do that again, I must remember to put eleven stitches, not ten, in each uphill or downhill run of double-crochets.

Clouds at Dawn weighs twenty-eight ounces, four more than my regular aran/worsted weight yarn ripples. If I add that extra stitch to each run, or about 10% more stitches, I’ll need 10% more yarn. That would be another three ounces, for a total of thirty-one. Let’s hope I check these notes and weigh my yarns carefully before I start my next double-strand blanket! I’d hate to run short.

I know that if I crochet another soon, I’ll be more likely to remember. I also know that I need to make many more double-strand blankets, if I’m going to work down my stash of baby and sport charity yarns! I think I still have blue and green Softee Baby, a good place to begin.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2012 Ripple of the Week #12 – Clouds at Dawn

  1. Renee says:

    Very beautiful as always linda!

  2. Edith says:

    Ooooh, I love the ‘soft’ look of this one, it’s beautiful! I like the ridged look too.

    • Thank you! Yes, this one is very ‘smooshy’!
      I’m liking the ridges more and more. Maybe I’ll include them in some future ripples, just for the way they look.
      Hmmm, I wonder if they would make a regular ripple tooo drapey?, even limp. :S
      Sounds like a worthy experiment. I could always call it a summer-weight ripple. 🙂

  3. This is really pretty. For a sweet little girl perhaps?

  4. Kathy says:

    I like how you did the back loop on those two rows only instead of every back row that a lot of ripple patterns call for. The way you did it appears to me in your picture as if that one specific row stands out or should I say stands “up” from the rows surrounding it. I’ll have to try and play around with it one day to actually see it and feel it.
    Beautiful afghan. It looks so soft and dreamy!! A drapey blankey is a cuddly one they can wrap up in, ball up on and just love to have wrapped around them! You did a beautiful job for a special child waiting its arrival!!…..Kathy

    • I like the way the ‘back loop’ rows pop-out too, adding another dimension to this blanket.
      I can almost imagine crocheting a one-color ripple, just to play with that effect. 🙂

      What a lovely word picture you’ve drawn. Thank You!!

Leave a Reply

