Ripple of the Week #14 – That 70’s Ripple

Remember how ‘stylish’ kitchens looked during the 70’s? I attempted to revive one of the era’s favorite color combinations with a bunch of vintage yarn. Most of it came from thrift stores, but the cream was a small part of this yarn donation.

11,962 stitches – 899,997 donated since Jan. 2011

It was hard to decide which side of #14 I wanted to call the front. I chose the more subtle side. The cream stripes on the back are bolder.

Yikes!! Those variegated stripes remind me of undulating snakes!

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ripple of the Week #14 – That 70’s Ripple

  1. Ohhh, that makes me think of shag carpets and brown colored stoves!

  2. Edith says:

    Love it! I must be a 70’s girl 🙂

  3. Oooohh I love this ripple blanket! Reminds me of my nan’s carpet – what lovely memories your blanket gives 🙂 I want to start a ripple blanket now! You’ve inspired me 🙂

    • Thank You! Glad my ripple brought back some good memories for you.

      Having both a granny and a ripple ‘on the hook’…
      ah, that sounds familiar…
      and fun! 🙂

      Ripples are my perpetual charity project, but I like having a granny (or two or three, hehe), going at the same time.

  4. Kathy says:

    Reminds me a bit of a pair of pants my brother wore! Of course the top he wore with them would be vertical stripes in red, white and blue….never color co-ordinating…but some how back then it matched!!…lol…..I love it! I love earth tone colors and I love the 70’s!! I love watching old tv shows or movies from the 60’s/70’s and scouting out the background for ripple or granny square afghans…they are always there if ya look hard enough!!….Groovy job ’74!!!!!!…..Kathy

    • I thought you were going to say the vertical stripes were on your brother’s pants!
      I had a couple pairs of striped hip-hugger bell bottoms in the early 70’s. Very Groovy!

      When I met my DH, he owned a polyester leisure suit in just about that shade of rust.
      Happily, it didn’t keep me from falling in love with him. Probably cuz I only saw him wear it once. 🙂

Leave a Reply

