A Crayon Idea for Easter

I have three new kinds of molds for recycling crayons, including one for Easter eggs!

Each Halloween Jello mold includes a bat, pumpkin, witch, ghost and cat. The package of five molds was marked 99¢ at Savers, but because of my senior discount I only paid 79! Whoo-hee! Save, save, save! LOL

On another day I got the silicone heart muffin pan and Easter egg tray at Sal’s, for 99 and 25 cents. I’m such a big spender; obviously recycling crayons doesn’t have to cost much.

I suppose the tray is meant for displaying your beautifully dyed Easter eggs or maybe for serving deviled ones, but I hope to make lovely striped Easter egg crayons with it! Chica and Joe share their technique for making layered crayons here. I want to try tilting the tray at a slightly different angle for each layer. I think that would create very interesting looking eggs!

I also want to try their clever tip (#2) for slicing crayon labels with a paper trimmer! I’ve been using a matt knife. This looks like a much safer way to do it and could be faster too, especially if I can slice down the length of several crayons with each stroke. I will have to experiment.

It’s too late to make Easter egg crayons for this year; the Easter baskets for the foster kids have already been filled and delivered. But what fun I’ll have making some for next Easter!… once I rebuild my crayon stash. I’ve had no crayons at all since I finished recycling the last batch, that is until the assistant manager at Sal’s gave me these three pounds of loose ones. You see, the store only sells crayons that are still in their original boxes, so she saved all the loose ones, just for me!

I have high hopes that many more crayons will soon come my way, because of this new crayon collection center at the library. What an eye-catching sign! I’m excited to see that there are already some crayons gathered in the crate below.

These nicely designed fliers are great for people to take home. Hopefully they’ll be reminded to bring their old crayons the next time they come to the library.

Maybe some of these ideas will help you rejuvenate sad unloved crayons too!

This entry was posted in Recycling Crayons, Thrifty Treasures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

