Wooly Neckwarmers: Basic and Ambitus

As soon as I started binding off my first Basic Neckwarmer I knew I had a major case of curling edges! And since the yarn, Phildar Pegase 206, is an acrylic/wool blend, I wasn’t sure whether simple wet blocking would fix it or not.

I pinned it down and tried our little hand steamer instead.

While anxiously waiting for it to dry, I cast on the circular Ambitus Neckwarmer. I thought this would be the perfect pattern for the rest of my Phildar yarn; since it’s knit completely of ribbing, I knew this one couldn’t curl!

I was supposed to knit its entire 14cm (5 1/2″) turtleneck section in 1×1 ribbing. But instead I wanted to knit 2×2 for the first 4 1/2″; it’s goes so much faster for me. Then I would knit the rest, another 2 1/2″, in 1×1 ribbing, so I could follow the pattern as written from there on. My Ambitus would have a seven-inch turtleneck, like the Basic Neckwarmer, providing plenty of fabric to cover the nose once unfolded.

My switch from 2×2 to 1×1 will be hidden when the turtleneck is folded down. Hopefully it won’t be very obvious even when it’s flipped up, because I’m going to try to match the stitch gauge of the 1×1 to the 2×2 by going down a couple of needle sizes.

Back to the Basic Neckwarmer – After a few hours I unpinned the now dry Basic Neckwarmer and discovered that steaming had worked!

TA-DAH!! Quite a difference, eh?

I’m so relieved, because I plan to knit a few more of these! Warm Hands doesn’t accept scarves, which means neckwarmers and cowls are essential for fighting the sub-zero windchills around James Bay. Brrrr!

With its large area of stockinette stitch, a Basic Neckwarmer is so much faster to knit than the all-ribbed Ambitus! Knitting the short two-and-a-half inch 1×1 rib section of the Ambitus’ turtleneck was exceptionally slow. I kept measuring and remeasuring, sure I must have reached the seven-inch total length by now… by now?!… o.k., I really must be done by Now?!? lol.

Please notice the smooth transition where I switched from knitting 2×2 rib on #6 needles down to 1×1 rib on #4s to maintain the turtleneck’s diameter. I’m a little proud.

I changed to navy yarn on the first increase round. I don’t have enough yarn left to knit all thirty-seven rounds intended for this next part, but if I use all of both the navy and red yarns I think I’ll at least reach the same width of ‘bib’ as on the Basic Neckwarmer.

Here I’ve finished a wide red stripe to balance the stripes at the turtleneck’s beginning. I have only a few more navy rounds left to knit. Must check remaining yardage before I continue on, so I’ll be sure to have enough yarn for binding off. Almost done… the anticipation builds!

It passes inspection alright at this point.

Let’s see how my first Ambitus looks with the 2×2 part of the turtleneck folded down. Please try to ignore all those yarn ends. I was too busy with the stripes; there was a knot in the yarn; blah, blah, blah… it didn’t occur to me until later that I could have done Russian joins instead of leaving the ends to weave in later. I tried felted joins (split-splices) too. I was surprised with how well they worked considering that I was working with an acrylic/wool blend! This youtube video from abigailscraftshowto shows how to do both Russian and felted joins.

I didn’t fair so well with the inspector this time. “Are you kidding me?! What’s with all these ends?”

Yikes! She’s tough! I can only hope the approval rating goes up once my Ambitus is off the needles. BTW – No worries, I’m very good at weaving in ends. lol!

My Warm Hands Challenge Tally is two FOs and one NFO (nearly finished object).

This entry was posted in Knitting, Scarves and Cowls, Warm Hands Network and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wooly Neckwarmers: Basic and Ambitus

  1. Edith says:

    Looking good 🙂 Would love a tutorial on how to weave in ends on a knitted piece…
    Emily is gorgeous! It’s getting very chilly here in the mornings now, I think a cowl would come in very handy…

    • Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond to your comment. I’ve been looking for really good tutorials on weaving ends in knitting. How about this one by chemknits? This article in Knitty shows it done in garter stitch.
      Susan B. Anderson does it in a completely different way. I’d still leave an inch long tail hanging after the weaving. She clips so close! I’d be afraid the yarn tip would pop through to the right side?
      I hope these are helpful to you. 🙂

      Shhhh, don’t let Emily hear you! She’s already such a princess. lol.

      Ah, chilly mornings sound pretty good. They say we’ll hit 85 (29 C) tomorrow, too hot for this time of year IMHO. ugh.

  2. Kathy says:

    These are very nice Linda! I am sure they will be put to use on those cold windy winter days! My mom & I use to wear something similar when we were buried in Buffalo under the snow!! But we use to call them “dickies”……I guess that name is no longer popular…and now it’s what it is…a neck warmer !!
    I don’t knit….tried it…does not compute….envious of the beautiful work that comes from those two needles! You’re a very talented crafter/needleworker!…..Kathy

    • My mother called them dickies too. They’re rather funny looking, but hopefully plenty warm.

      If it’s been a long time since you tried knitting and you’d still like to learn, I challenge you to give it another try! I taught myself to knit with the help of a few good books and the internet, especially youtube, and now there’s Ravelry too! It’s nice to have several places to get answers 24/7. 🙂

      Thank you for the compliment. I have always, always loved to make things!

Leave a Reply

