Ripple of the Week #25 – Blushing Peaches

Once I finished unraveling the ‘Muppet’ thrift store sweater I was so very anxious to see how the yarn would look in its first ripple!

It’s such a thin yarn, I knew that I needed to combine it with a strand of something else. Maybe next time I’ll have some bright pink or orange, but this time I thought I could use up a few little scrap balls of various pastel pink baby yarns!

I like my results. I think Blushing Peaches looks great when seen up close…

as well as from a distance!

10,418 stitches – 1,024,613 donated since Jan. 2011

My Scrandom Method worked well for planning Blushing Peaches’ stripes. They ate up six scrap balls weighing from one-and-a-half to four ounces and a seven-ounce skein of deep peach or cantaloupe, the blanket’s main color. I only know the real names of two out of the seven yarns, Red Heart Super Saver Light Raspberry and a vintage Sayelle from KMart, Dusty Rose.

Another name, Raspberry Peach Ripple, just occurred to me. Oh dear, as if Blushing Peaches alone weren’t bad enough… and I know we have vanilla ice cream, peaches and raspberries in our freezer too! drool.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012, Unraveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ripple of the Week #25 – Blushing Peaches

  1. Sharon says:

    Another beauty!!

    I actually thought of you on the weekend. We went to a garage sale and this lady was selling wool and a couple of the bags had knitted sweaters partially completed. They were expensive for a garage sale item but she claimed the wool was something she had ordered from France. Yarn is the first thing I look for at garage sales!!

    Have a great week.
    Sharon

    • Thank You!

      I love that you thought of me while at a garage sale. LOL! 🙂

      Guess I’m not that discerning – I wouldn’t be willing to pay more just because it came from France.
      Now maybe if the yarn was handpainted or cashmere or…
      I have no idea what kind of special yarns might sell in France!

      Let’s see… for me yarn is probably tied for #1 with stuff for charity (afghans, children’s books, stuffed animals, baby hats, etc.), then craft books, needles, hooks, etc., fabric,… birdhouses… jewelry… who knows!

  2. You come up with the neatest names for your afghans! Enjoy your Memorial Day.

    • Thank You! I write down anything that occurs to me while I’m working on a blanket and sometimes DH throws in his two cents worth. Rarely are we both stumped when it comes for a name.

      You too! Hope you have a gorgeous day weatherwise and find lots to smile about. 🙂

  3. cmv1021 says:

    What a beautiful afghan! I love when you use the yarn you’ve harvested from one of your thrift store finds! Looking forward to next week’s ripple! 🙂

    • Thank You!

      Me too! I celebrate the first time when I find a sweater at a great price that can be turned into great yarn, a second time once it’s unraveled and then every time I make a ripple with it!! 🙂

      Next week’s is going to have a vintage feel.

Leave a Reply

