Cidalia’s Wriggly Ripple

Ooooh, I’m so excited!!! Cidalia, one of my dear readers, and I have been chatting about her Wriggly Ripple. Yah, that’s right, someone’s using my pattern to crochet an afghan!! This is So Cool. I’m thinkin’ the smile on my face right now is of the BIG Stupid variety, but only Emily’s here to see, so that’s okay.

She mentioned, “My ripples don’t seem to be as wriggley as yours…lol..but I attribute that to maybe a different crochet hook size and my crochet style. All in all I think it is coming along nicely and my daughter likes the way it looks so that’s all that matters.”

I agree completely; that is all that matters! But I’d also say that it’s coming along Beautifully! and that I don’t see a significant difference in its wriggle. Maybe it’ll appear wrigglier to her once it’s finished and she can look at it from a distance. I know that sometimes changes the way I see my blankets.

This Wriggly Ripple is doubly special, because it’s the only existing Wriggly Ripple that I’m aware of, other than the two that have fallen from my hook, and because Cidalia’s little four-year-old daughter picked out the colors! And what a wonderful job she did.

I especially appreciate this great color combination, because I’ve worked with the variegated yarn in it, RHSS Pink Camo, myself. Thinking this yarn could easily lead to a drab or dreary looking blanket if I used too much of the olive and/or brown that’s in it, I made pink the dominate color of 2011’s Ripple #31. But I played it very safe, matching both my pink and green yarn choices as closely as I could to those in the camo, which is pretty funny considering how I’m forever saying you don’t need to be too matchy-matchy with yarn colors when planning a blanket. lol!

Playing with colors is so much Fun! Hot Pink and Lime Green with Pink Camo is Bright and Bold and Cheery, Yes!, but drab or dreary? Never!

Cidalia also told me, “…the light pink was a skein of yarn that I found at Savers…it’s original retail sticker is marked 74 cents and was sold at Bradlees so that gives you an indication of how old it is..lol.

P.S. My background (tablecloth) was a Savers find…it cost $2.39 after my mom’s senior discount and I love its vintage look!”

I love hearing and telling Savers’ tales. Can anyone else appreciate a thrifty find as much as another thrifter? BTW – love the polka dots in the background of the tablecloth.

Thank you so much for sharing your photos and story with us, Cidalia! I got such a kick out of seeing the progress you’re making on your daughter’s Wriggly Ripple. I’ll be oh-so-patient as I wait for your ripple’s Ta-Dah!! photos, so you can enjoy crocheting it at your leisure.

Oh, my, she could be crocheting on it, crocheting on it right now, even as we speak! squeal.

Note: If you would like your Wriggly Ripple to appear in Alottastitches, let me know in a comment.

This entry was posted in Readers' Ripples, Wriggly Ripples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cidalia’s Wriggly Ripple

  1. WooHoo! I LOVE those colors! Cidalia, it looks great! Linda, I just love you. You’re excitement is contagious! And you’re so encouraging and helpful. πŸ™‚

    • It’s a wonderful Spring! color combination isn’t it!?!

      Thank You very much Karen.
      Yeah, you’ve come to know me well, always getting excited, possibly even ‘giddy’ LOL, over somethin’!
      Somethin’ I’m making, somethin’ someone else is making, some idea… πŸ˜€

      And “so encouraging and helpful” is what I hope my blog will always be.

  2. Verneta says:

    Another beautiful Wriggly Ripple! I started mine Friday night. It’s about 38″ wide and probably 26″ in length; two shades of blue and white. Hope to finish it this week. The pattern is wonderful! Great instructions and it goes so fast. I found an afghan at Goodwill for $5 and I’m ripping it out for this Wriggly one. There’s enough yarn to do two blankets. Yeah! I’ll take a picture of it tonight. God bless you, Linda!

    • Yes, Cidalia’s Ripple is definitely beautiful!
      And I bet yours is too. πŸ™‚

      I’m so happy that’s it’s going well! And blue just happens to be my favorite color. Can’t wait to see it.

      You already know how much I looove thrift store yarn, no matter if it comes in skein or afghan form!

  3. cmv1021 says:

    Thank you Karen! πŸ™‚ I agree with you…Linda’s excitement is contagious!! I have enjoyed every blog post she has made. I am so happy to have stumbled across your blog Linda! Thank you for doing such beautiful work and encouraging other to do so as well!
    P.S. Thank you for making my Wriggly Ripple famous!! πŸ™‚
    Cidalia

    • Oh, Cidalia, you’re so kind! Thank you for such thoughtful compliments. You make me blush. (fanning my red face)

      I always wonder how people find alottastitches. Do you remember?
      Maybe you Googled some crochet topic? Just curious.

      What really matters is that you’ve enjoyed your time here and your daughter’s going to enjoy her Wriggly for years to come!!! πŸ˜€

  4. craftynowy says:

    Beautiful colors!

  5. Verneta says:

    My Wriggly Ripple is on its way: 3 rows of dark blue, 2 light blue, and 1 white row. So fun!!! Love your pattern, Linda. It’s fast to do … up 9, down 9, up 4, down 4. Yeah! Thank you so much for your kindness in sharing your Wriggly Ripple pattern!

    • Ooooh, two shades of blue, so twice as pretty! Some how I missed that when I read the first description.

      And there it is, the essence of the Wriggly pattern in just one phrase: “up 9, down 9, up 4, down 4″ LOL.

      You’re very welcome, Verneta! I’m glad to hear how much you’re enjoying the pattern.

      Just wondering – you mentioned that yours is 38” wide. Is that with an H crochet hook?

Leave a Reply

