Week #26 – Retro Ripple

It’s fitting that a retro afghan should be made from ‘retro’ yarns, right? I used an entire seven-ounce skein of Meadowbrook cream, an unfamiliar brand, as well as the last three ounces I had of Famous Makers’ Odd Lots dark brown. DH says with a wonderful name like ‘Famous Makers’ you know it’s got to be good yarn! lol.

10,418 stitches – 1,034,449 donated since Jan. 2011

The dark olive, excuse me, but in this case I think we should call it ‘avocado’, a much newer yarn by Vanna’s Choice, fits into this vintage color scheme so well, no one would suspect that it isn’t a vintage yarn unless they felt how much softer and fluffier it is. Acrylic yarns have certainly improved over the years!

Did you happen to notice the five single rows of lighter green? I was able to use up two teeny-tiny scrap balls. Yay Me. lol..

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week #26 – Retro Ripple

  1. Edith says:

    Like! Perfect for a young man. I’m into browns and greens lately ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you. I think a young man might pick this one too.
      It’s a rather autumnal color mix – a good fit for your current season, yes?
      (Edith’s in the southern hemisphere)

      We celebrate the first day of summer here in a couple weeks.

  2. cmv1021 says:

    Very nice! I have a similar collection of colors set aside for my next afghan. I picked up a couple of skeins of RHSS “Fall” on clearance a few weeks back.
    I also ordered a Lot of vintage yarn from Ebay last week….can’t wait until it comes in! I got 14 skeins for $9.60…that was including the shipping. If I throw in a little extra yarn that I have hanging around…I should be able to get 2 afghans out of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I had to go look up “Fall” to see it’s colors. They’re so close to my Retro’s color combo! Was I reading your mind? LOL!

      Great yarn deal on Ebay!! It sounds like you’ve been finding great deals everywhere lately!! Ebay, yarn store, Savers, well no, Savers was a bust, haha.

      It’s nice to have enough yarn to be able to plan a few afghans ahead, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That’s one of the things I really like about your ripples: the sandwiching of a light between two darks. It adds such dimension!

  4. Beth says:

    70’s…..where’s the avocado-colored stove and refrigerator and shag carpet?

Leave a Reply

