More Neckwarmers and Yarns to Dye For

I’m sorry if you’re not the least bit interested in talking about even more neckwarmers, but I am! lol. I’m excited about how successful my Autumn Leaves neckwarmer #9 was! Notice that little piece of yarn on the left?

What a beautiful sight! That little piece is all I had left. Yay! Thanks to knitting Anna Hromova’s Basic Neckwarmer from the bottom up, I did not run out of yarn, nor was I left with another annoying little scrap ball! I knitted as high of a turtleneck as I could with the amount of yarn I had, 5 1/2″ tall, which just happens to be the size Anna recommends, while saving a generous three yard tail for the bind-off.

Even that little piece of yarn did not go to waste; I used it to tie fiber content labels on some of the neckwarmers. lol.

I share my notes for a bottom-up Basic Neckwarmer, with Anna’s approval, at the end of this post.

May 25 –  I immediately cast-on #10 with some unlabeled navy. I thought the bright Rainbow variegated yarn could be better appreciated if its bright colors weren’t piled one upon another, so I alternated three rounds of navy with one round of Rainbow. I have enough yarn left to knit another rainbow and navy neckwarmer if I reverse the proportion making it three rounds of rainbow to one of navy.

Hmmm, that would be alot of Rainbow. I don’t know if I would like it or not, but I do know that I like the interesting color bands of color the variegated yarn creates on this turtleneck!

The color combination of my next, #11, which I started May 27, was inspired by this pair of socks in Ravelry. I used scrap balls of chartreuse, light olive and taupe, plus a bit of yarn left from neckwarmer #7, the solid blue one.

While I was knitting it I coordinated yarn scraps for yet another striped neckwarmer, #12.

Warm Hands Network would like us to use medium to dark colors, so I also considered what color(s) of my Wilton icing gels I should use to over-dye this pretty light blue vintage wool yarn, ‘Larkspur’, from Caron

and this Red Heart vintage variegated yarn, called ‘Browns’. It’s an acrylic blend so it’ll be interesting to see how well it dyes.

Time was getting short. Knitting had to stop on June 4th so every Basic Neckwarmer could be blocked, photographed and labeled by June 5th. I wondered if I would have the time to dye this unknown lavender yarn with several colors. Each little ball could be a different shade. Or, I could simply dye the large skein and then knit a neckwarmer with the two coordinating colors.

Bottom-Up Notes:

Means I’m now starting at edge of neckwarmer’s bib.

I used 6 stitch markers, 2 of one color, let’s say red, and 4 of another, let’s say yellow.

w/#8 16″ circular needle I Cast-on 184 (used a 3 1/2 yard long tail), joined to knit in the round. Placed red marker at beginning of round.

Switched to #7

The original directions for border say to Knit 4 rounds in garter stitch. With the long tail CO I’ve actually already done the first K round as part of the CO. So P round 2, and K round 3.

While P round 4 I added a yellow marker after every 46 sts (You’ll need the 2 ‘extra’ markers for rounds 5-24)

Rest of Bib:

(It’s a good idea to read through the entire ‘Rest of Bib’ section before proceeding.)

Knit 24 rounds in stockinette stitch while working centered double decreases (S2KP) on every odd-numbered round at the four markers to create the bib’s four corners.

So I wouldn’t be doing the decrease right next to the markers, I K1 and then worked the decrease.

On the even-numbered rounds I moved each marker one stitch to the right. I did this by placing the extra matching colored marker, red or yellow, one stitch before the marker that’s already in place, then K1 and removed old marker.

After 24 rounds you hopefully have 88 stitches left, 22 between markers. Trust me, I sometimes fudge with an increase or decrease or two at this point. lol. As long as your total number of stitches is divisible by four, you’re good to go. You can remove all markers at this point.

Turtleneck:

Knit 2×2 rib
Original pattern says for 5 1/2″
I liked them anywhere from 6 to 7″ so they reach the tip of the nose when unfolded.

Estimate used 3 yds. to BO in pattern w/#8

This entry was posted in Scarves and Cowls, Warm Hands Network and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Neckwarmers and Yarns to Dye For

  1. Verneta says:

    Well for me, I never grown tired of hearing about neckwarmers or any project of someone’s. It makes me want to actually knit something (a hat). I can just do basic knit and purl (?). You never know who you may inspire out there in Crochet Land to make neckwarmers or other items for those who need some love! And you’re passing on what you learned of knitting the neckwarmers from the bottom up and how to block them, etc., etc. The circle continues! Every day you are out there doing something to help others. You’re probably figuring out how many you can finish until DH’s next trip to Canada. Way to Go, Linda!

    • Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging note! I’m kinda concerned that I’m boring folks with my ‘exciting’ fiber life: Ripple, Savers, Neckwarmer, Savers, Neckwarmer, Ripple, etc. LOL.

      I told DH that I’d like as much advance notice as possible of his next trip. He says doesn’t know if he’ll ever need/get to return to Ottawa for work. My box of misc. wool yarns will wait, and probably refill, ready for my next wooly charity opportunity, be it Canadian or otherwise.

      Have you picked out a hat pattern? You can make a rolled brim hat with just knit stitches using Crazy Aunt Purl’s Easy Roll-Brim Knit Hat Recipe! If you haven’t yet tried decreases, she explains how to do those too. 🙂

  2. NEVER boring! I LOVE to read about your latest adventures in yarn and crafting no matter what they might be. In fact, you’ve got me on the edge of my seat wondering which way you’re going to go with that lavender yarn! Maybe I’m just a geek.

    I agree with Verneta, too. You have a great way of inspiring others so keep on typing, Honey!

    • Thank You!
      Oooh, the suspense! Is she going to make a two-toned neckwarmer or a multi-colored one? Will it still be noticeably purple or something completely new and different?! Why it’s like the cliff-hanger at the end of a soap opera episode! Stay-tuned. lol.
      If you’re a geek, Karen, then I must be one too! Remember I’m the one turning patterns upside down just so I can use yarn down to its last yard. 🙂

  3. Ann says:

    I remember you making a neck warmer for your hubby. Then I recently thought (and of course now I knit) my men don’t want scarves…and I really don’t either. Turtleneck dickeys are on the list of winter wear for them and a feminine one for me, eventually or first, who knows. I’m off work in January/February so I’ll finally have the steady time to knit. And now, something they will actually wear in lieu of the too much warmth or bulk of another layer. Maybe a hat in the finer gauge that knit allows. Crochet ones don’t appeal to them at all, unless it’s a humorous one…think Minions.
    Thank you for the pattern links and your bottom up directions. Excellent and easy to understand.

Leave a Reply

