Design Angst*

A couple of weeks ago I went through the yarns in my charity stash putting together sets of colors for several future ripples. I was hoping to make at least one more softly blended monochromatic ripple like Waves or Midas. I can’t begin to describe how giddy I felt when I came downstairs with these five colors of long discontinued yarns, which create a smooth and gentle gradation from yellow-orange right through to rust!

Nor how crestfallen I became when I weighed them and found I had only fifteen-and-a-half ounces when it takes twenty-four to make a ripple. What to do?… What to do?

Back up to the attic I went, where I stood among my boxes of stash and looked for at least nine ounces of some color (24 oz. needed for ripple – 15 oz. in yellow to rust set = 9 oz. to go) that would look as good with my five beauties as they look with each other.

Since I have plenty of the neutral colored yarns I tried white, cream, ecru and tan first. Nope.

I had few other choices as even a complete skein of RHSS weighs only 7 or 8 ounces.

Earlier I had paired RHSS Carrot with this unlabeled skein of navy, intending to make a ripple resembling the rugby shirt in this magazine picture. It occurred to me that if navy looks good with Carrot, it would probably look good with all of my beautiful range of colors too! But was there at least nine ounces of it?

On second glance that skein of navy does look suspiciously Large!

Hey – it weighs over ten ounces!… and now I know that wouldn’t have been enough navy for a Rugby Ripple anyway. (7 oz. Carrot + 10 oz. navy = only 17 oz.)

Time for a HaPpY, HaPpY, HaPpY Dance as we say Good-bye to the ‘blended ripple’ I thought wanted and Hello to… gee, I have no idea what I’ll call this new style of ripple!

I’m in a terrible hurry to see how it’s going to look, but with a mere ounce and a half of yarn to spare, I’ve got some very careful arithmetic and chart making to do before I’m ready to put hook to yarn.

* “Angst, often confused with anxiety, is a transcendent emotion in that it combines the unbearable anguish of life… ” (and yarn weight/stripe calculation) “…with the hopes of overcoming a seemingly impossible situation.” LOL

Quoted From UrbanDictionary.com

This entry was posted in Design Process, Inspiration, Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Design Angst*

  1. Sharon says:

    Hi Linda. Your camping story was so great and now, this choosing colors for your next ripple is so pleasing too. You have a way of giving out valuable information but in a witty manner.
    Have a great weekend.
    Sharon

    • Thank you for your thoughtful compliment; it means so much to me!

      I want to be comfortable and at ease as I write so my natural ‘voice’ can come through, but it’s hard not to feel self-conscious. After all, people I don’t know, from all around the world, can read this!!!! lol.

      For example, let’s say hello to your fellow dear readers who have visited from Namibia and Moldova today… Wave!

  2. Margo says:

    Wonderful solution. Also consider throwing in some white if you have it. Either way a dark one or two row stripe of the navy will look perfect.

  3. Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

