Ripple of the Week # 35 – Hilltops and Fair Skies

This is the first time that I’ve used Red Heart Fiesta, a tweedy yarn that’s 73% Acrylic and 27% Nylon.

It may be called Light Periwinkle, but it has little bits of white, dark green and bright pink in it too, a pretty and rather unusual color combination.

I suspect that I should thank the 25% nylon content for both this yarn’s delicate sparkle and the problem I had with splitting. For some reason I kept catching very fine, nearly invisible filaments with my hook, which was aggravating because it slowed me down. arrrrgh.

I’m very pleased with the end results though!… a handsome ripple for a foster boy.

11,862 Stitches – 1,143,281 Donated Since Jan. 2011

BYW – the dark color is RHSS Forest Green.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ripple of the Week # 35 – Hilltops and Fair Skies

  1. For some reason, I’m not getting the last 2 pictures. 😦 I agree with you on the Fiesta. Pretty, but catchy.

    • Thanks so much for letting me know about the pics.
      Quick, quick, fix fix!! 🙂
      I have no idea what happened… they were there last night! aaargh.

      • Oh! I thought it was just me and my browser! Oh, Linda, this one is SO nice! Just gorgeous! Yet again, you combined colors I wouldn’t have thought would look good together, but they’re great! Dk Forest? Awesome.

      • Glad you like it!

        I got the idea for the Dark Forest from the green flecks in the tweedy blue yarn. I’d wanted to “match” its deep pink/fuchsia flecks too, but neither JoAnns or Michaels had a RHSS anywhere close. 😦
        Maybe Magenta?

Leave a Reply

